South Asian Studies

Provides data on cancer incidence world-wide. Managed by the Cancer Information Section (CIN) of WHO's International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC).

Contains over 70 key health indicators obtained from 11 carefully selected and internationally recognized data sources. From USAID.

The GHDx is a data catalog listing information about microdata, aggregated data, and research results with a focus on health-related and demographic datasets.

Data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators. A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.

"The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information." [provider description]

National and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/STIs, infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

A single entry point to United Nations statistical databases.

"The statistical tool includes economic and social data from 195 countries and territories, with particular reference to children’s well-being. Users can choose their countries and indicators to build tables on the fly, or download the numbers into an Excel spreadsheet. These statistics are derived from UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World’s Children." [provider description]

Download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.

SAPHF was established in 1999 to improve communication among public health professionals, who have interest in South Asia( Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka and Maldives). Over the years its membership has increased to many hundreds of professionals from all corners of the world.

This database of official statistics originating from various Government of India ministries and departments will provide important insight on various socio-economic concerns for the development of the country and its human capital. Users can drill down through levels of disaggregated data at national, state, district and sub-district levels, and extract information to present the statistical measures of the indicators in the form of maps, graphs and tables using the intuitive built-in wizard.

The Indian Census is the largest single source of a variety of statistical information on different characteristics of the people of India. With a history of more than 130 years, this reliable, time tested exercise has been bringing out a veritable wealth of statistics every 10 years. To scholars and researchers in demography, economics, anthropology, sociology, statistics and many other disciplines, The India Census has been a fascinating source of data.

MEASURE DHS+ assists developing countries worldwide in the collection and use of data to monitor and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. Demographic and health surveys provide information on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections, and reproductive health. Data is available using the STATcompiler, an online database tool that allows users to select numerous countries and hundreds of indicators to create customized tables.

The India Human Development Survey (IHDS) is a nationally representative, a multi-topic survey of 41,554 households in 1503 villages and 971 urban neighborhoods across India. The first round of interviews was completed in 2004-5; data are publicly available through ICPSR. The second round of IHDS is reinterviewing these households in 2011-12 to examine changes in an era of rapid economic growth. The second round also adds interviews with young people aged 15-18 to examine the process of transition to adulthood.
IHDS has been jointly organized by researchers from the University of Maryland and the National Council of Applied Economic Research (NCAER), New Delhi. Funding for the second round of this survey is provided by the National Institutes of Health, grants R01HD041455 and R01HD061048. Additional funding is provided by The Ford Foundation.