Long-running Kenyan newspaper, also known as The East African Standard. Brown has a fairly complete run of this title on microfilm for the years 1971-2002. PLEASE NOTE: The title changed back and forth several times and there are different records in BruKnow for each variation. To find the earlier reels, we recommend searching for "The Standard (Nairobi)" as a Journal Title in BruKnow. Current issues of The Standard are accessible online.
Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.
JSTOR has 66 titles on its subject browse list for African Studies. Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or email@example.com.
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.
A collaborative project by Michigan State University, the Association of African Universities and the African Studies Association, which includes a directory of journals about Africa along with a full-text archive of a number of 11 scholarly journals published in Africa.
An analytic, searchable, online index covering the interwar Pan-African periodicals La Revue du Monde Noir, Légitime Défense, L’Étudiant Noir, the wartime Tropiques, and the postwar Présence Africaine, as well as the Québécois journal Liberté.
A project of the Library's Nairobi office to catalog and classify publications from the following African countries: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, the Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, Reunion, Rwanda, Senegal, the Seychelles, Somalia, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
The BU African Studies Library (located on the 6th floor of the Mugar Library) is an outstanding resource for African research materials, including 20th century newspapers in print and on microfilm that are not otherwise available at Brown.