Photography and film documenting the lives and struggles of ordinary South Africans -- miners, Khomani settlers, conscientious objectors to Apartheid, Khwe hip-hop artists, migrant entrepreneurs
a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource. Plans are underway to add digital tools in order to enable scholars to work with and add to these materials.
A freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994, providing a wealth of material on this fascinating period of the country’s history. Much time, creative thought and debate goes into the selection of the content, and participation and input from interested persons, scholars and institutions in South Africa and overseas is encouraged.
From the Bibliothèque Commémorative Mama Haidara in Timbuktu, Mali, a collection of 19th century manuscripts relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu. The materials, in Arabic, provide documentation on Africans in slavery in Muslim societies.
Timbuktu, Mali, is the legendary city founded as a commercial center in West Africa nine hundred years ago. Dating from the 16th to the 18th centuries, the ancient manuscripts presented in this exhibition cover every aspect of human endeavor and are indicative of the high level of civilization attained by West Africans during the Middle Ages.
Documents the British campaign against Apartheid in Southern Africa, and its efforts to support the people of South Africa in their fight against apartheid. The AAM also campaigned for freedom for Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Angola, and against South Africa’s attacks on its neighbors.
Established in June 2000 to address the biased way in which South Africa’s history and heritage, as well as the history and heritage of Africa in general, was represented in existing educational and cultural institutions, SAHO is a non-profit and "non-partisan people's history institution," focused on presenting public history in freely available digital format for educational purposes.
An assortment of popular literature -- comprising drama, fiction, history, conduct manuals, and contemporary politics -- produced by local authors and publishers for popular consumption in Onitsha, Nigeria, between 1955 and 1975.
A collection of archival material that documents the 19th century European grab for territory in Africa. Includes material from U.S. and UK government archives as well as collections documenting British and German colonization efforts. This collection is part of the Nineteenth Century Collections Online database.
Includes material of interest on West Africa, documenting both the transatlantic slave trade and the later establishment of colonies of freed slaves in Sierra Leone and Liberia.
1490-2007; Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice is a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering more than five centuries from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world and the Mediterranean with contextual essays by prominent scholars in the field. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continuing existence of slavery today.
A primary source collection containing 27,000 objects and 190,000 pages documenting the liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of apartheid
The struggles for freedom in Southern Africa were both a regional and global phenomenon. As such, documentation of the struggles is scattered around the world, reflecting the history itself: colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. The Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa Collection brings together materials from various sites throughout the world and makes them available online to students, teachers, and researchers, both in Africa and outside the continent. By providing sample materials, the Collection also publicises the rich collections of partner institutions, helping make them more widely known to researchers. At-present, the Collection consists of more than 180 000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN docum
27 reels. Brown holds only Part 1 of this massive microfilm collection, covering West Africa (Sierra Leone) from 1803 to 1880. A printed guide to the entire collection is available.
This link opens in a new window
