LibGuides: Alternatives to Federal Health Resources: Alternatives to PubMed

Alternatives to PubMed

These databases index peer-reviewed journal metadata across a variety of sources. Each includes data from PubMed (MEDLINE), ensuring access to content in the event PubMed becomes unavailable.

To learn more about these resources, see our blog post: Beyond PubMed: Resources for Searching the Biomedical Literature.

Europe PMC
Europe PMC integrates content from a range of sources such as PubMed, PubMed Central (PMC), Agricola, and 34 life science preprint servers including biorxiv, Research Square, and Preprints.org. Free to access.
lens.org
The Lens includes the following primary data sources: Crossref, PubMed, OpenAlex and Microsoft Academic (discontinued), with supplementary data from additional data sources including Unpaywall, OpenCitations, DOAJ, ORCID, ROR, PMC and publishers such as Springer Nature. Free to access.

Embase
Provides access to biomedical research, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research, 1947-present.
Ovid MEDLINE
MEDLINE is the primary database behind PubMed. If PubMed is not available, MEDLINE should still be searchable via the Ovid interface.
Scopus
Scopus is a cross-disciplinary abstract and citation database. It allows for forward and back citation searching. 1788-present.
Web Of Science
Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present