American Studies

Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000* tracks of jazz from over 1,900* albums. Over 500* jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artists. US-based Fantasy Jazz has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B.

Smithsonian Global Sound, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. This resource may be cross-searched, along with other music resources, via Music Online.

1972-present; the FIAF Databases Online is a group of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives, bringing together contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloguing and documentation. The FIAF Databases include:
* International Index to Film Periodicals
* International Index to Television Periodicals
* List of Periodicals Indexed
* Treasures from the Film Archives
* Bibliography of FIAF Affiliates Publications
* International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections

1976-2001; the Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. [This resource is publicly available.]

Academic Video Online includes every kind of material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. There are thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, andPeabody winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Academic Video Online covers all disciplines and subject areas, with specific strengths in anthropology, counseling & therapy art, fashion & design, business & economics, diversity studies, documentary film, feature film, education, history, music & dance, news & current events, and theatre & drama. In addition, there is content in nursing, allied health, criminal justice, engineering, and science.

Subject areas to search individually:

Art & Design
Diversity
Health Sciences
History
Literature & Language
Music & Performing Arts
Psychology & Counseling
Science & Engineering
Social Sciences

Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. International in scope and thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

Qwest TV was created by Quincy Jones and is a subscription video-on-demand (SVOD) service featuring jazz and related eclectic music.

Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.

Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. With Asian voices addressing Asian issues, and through works selected by Asian film experts, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights. Its themes - such as modernity, globalization, national identity, female agency, inequalities in opportunity amid social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity - are central to any meaningful discussion of Asian culture.