Technology has had a big impact on newspapers, and many of them are now online. This guide is designed to help users determine which newspapers in the Library are in print, and which are in microfilm, images, or plain text.
Last Updated: Mar 16, 2015
- Asahi Shimbun (Japan)
- Boston Globe
- Christian Science Monitor
- Financial Times (UK)
- Jen min jih pao (China)
- Le Monde (France)
- New York Times
- Providence Journal
- Shih chieh jih pao
- Times (London)
- USA Today
- Wall Street Journal
- Washington Post
These databases are updated daily and cover current newspapers and news sources from around the world in full text.
- Library PressDisplay
Current (last 60 days); Library PressDisplay is an online newspaper portal which offers over 3000 newspapers from over 100 countries in 60 languages.
- Eureka.CC (Virtual News Library)
News and current events from over 2,500 daily newspapers, journals, magazines, news wires, and tv transcripts. The latest news in English, French, Spanish and other languages. This is a text-based database, but there are some full image image newspapers incl. Le Monde, Liberation, & Le Figero.
- Access World News Research Collection
A full text news resource of over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
- LexisNexis Academic
Current; said to be the world's largest full text, online database, containing more than a billion full text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information.
The ProQuest newspapers in this list are text only, so for the most part you will not see images or advertising.