LibGuides: Bioengineering & Biotechnology: Article Databases

Biomedical Databases

PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.
Embase
Provides access to biomedical research, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research, 1947-present.
Web Of Science
Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present

Chemistry Databases

Reaxys
Research tool for organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry experimental substance property data and single and multistep reaction data, 1779-present

1779-present; web-based discovery tool for organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry experimental substance property data (including physical, spectral, pharmacological, toxicological, and ecological) and single and multistep reaction data. Combines the content of the former CrossFire databases including Beilstein and Gmelin. Reaction and substance data are experimentally validated (not calculated) from selected journals and patent literature. Reaxys integrates reaction and substance data with structure search, synthesis planning, analysis tools, and output formats.

Each user must REGISTER to use Reaxys. Users must have a Brown IP (Ethernet or VPN) and submit a BROWN.EDU EMAIL ADDRESS when registering.
SciFinder-N
A comprehensive discovery tool of chemical information. SciFinder-N is the new interface for SciFinder.

Use of this resource is limited to current faculty, administrative staff, and registered students and their use is limited to academic research, teaching, and publication purposes only. Any commercial use is strictly prohibited.

Engineering Databases

Compendex
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, 1969-present

1969-present; Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.
IEEE Xplore
Provides access to technical literature covering engineering and technology.

IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Content: IEEE journals, transactions, letters, and magazines from 1988 with select content back to 1913, IEEE conference proceedings from 1988 with select content back to 1953, IEEE standards from 1948, IET journals, letters, and magazines from 1988 with select content back to 1965, and IET conference proceedings from 1988.
SPIE Digital Library
Provides access to papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging.

1990-present; the SPIE Digital Library is an extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 300,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings. Contents of the SPIE Digital Library Proceedings of SPIE: Starting at Volume 1200 (1990)* Optical Engineering: Starting at Volume 29 (1990) Journal of Electronic Imaging: Starting at Volume 1 (1992) Journal of Biomedical Optics: Starting at Volume 1 (1996) Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS: Starting at Volume 1 (2002) Journal of Applied Remote Sensing: Starting at Volume 1 (2007) Journal of Nanophotonics: Starting at Volume 1 (2007) Journal of Photonics for Energy: Starting at Volume 1 (2011) SPIE eBooks: A selection beginning 1989 * Some Proceedings volumes are not available in the SPIE Digital Library as SPIE does not have electronic rights to this material.