LibGuides: Bioengineering & Biotechnology: Drug & Device Reference

Materials & Chemical Reference

ASM Medical Materials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find information on implantable medical materials; topics include cardiovascular, orthopedic, neurological, urological, dental, and surgical devices; current.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive discovery tool of chemical information. SciFinder-N is the new interface for SciFinder.
NOTE: This resource requires individual registration with your Brown email address. You must be on-campus or using the University's VPN when setting up your account. If you are first-time user, click HERE to register. If you've already registered, use the "SciFinder" link above.
Use of this resource is limited to current faculty, administrative staff, and registered students and their use is limited to academic research, teaching, and publication purposes only. Any commercial use is strictly prohibited.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research tool for organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry experimental substance property data and single and multistep reaction data, 1779-present
1779-present; web-based discovery tool for organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry experimental substance property data (including physical, spectral, pharmacological, toxicological, and ecological) and single and multistep reaction data. Combines the content of the former CrossFire databases including Beilstein and Gmelin. Reaction and substance data are experimentally validated (not calculated) from selected journals and patent literature. Reaxys integrates reaction and substance data with structure search, synthesis planning, analysis tools, and output formats.

Each user must REGISTER to use Reaxys. Users must have a Brown IP (Ethernet or VPN) and submit a BROWN.EDU EMAIL ADDRESS when registering.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scientific resource containing more than 700 interactive tables in more than 450 documents, current
Current edition of the print Handbook plus tables from older editions. Some tables are interactive and can be downloaded. Search by keyword in the text or substance/property search (by name, formula, CAS Registry No., molecular weight, and/or subject); back-of-the-book index is not interactive.
Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes data and tables from books, conference proceedings and databases. Allows for filtering and searching on specific material properties.
Current; Knovel aggregates the content (books and databases) of major science and engineering publishers. The resource is searched like a database for book titles, topics, and, more importantly, specific data within interactive tables and graphs.

Pharmaceutical Reference

Micromedex Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases offering information on drugs, toxicology, alternative medicine therapies, and patient care, current. VPN is required to access this resource off-campus.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date, peer-reviewed, clinically relevant information on all U.S. prescription drugs, as well as off-label uses and dosage, herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs, current.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals with more than 11,500 monographs on single substances or groups of related compounds.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements; current.