Skip to main content

Brown University and the Military

Materials in the Brown University Archives related to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World Wars, Vietnam, and the military.

Civil War

Personal Papers

Manuscripts not in collections, MS-1ZX (University Archives)

Avery, William Bailey

Alden, Charles Henry

Bishop, Phanuel Euclid

Edgell, John Davis

Green, Arnold

Monroe, John Albert

Packard, Alpheus

Peck, George B.

                  

Brown University student diaries, 1820- (bulk 1820-1921),  MS-1R-1 (University Archives)

  • Burrage, Henry Sweetser

                                  

Brown University student correspondence, 1769-1940 (bulk 1789-1869), MS-1R-2 (University Archives)

  • Porter, Emery Huntington

 

William Mason Turner papers, 1855-1877, Ms. 77.1 (Manuscripts)  A native Virginian, William Mason Turner attended Brown University, from which he received a Ph.B. degree in 1855. Following Brown, Turner enrolled in medical school at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia for a three year course of study. After completing his studies in medicine, Turner made a tour of Europe and the Middle East with a group of fellow doctors. With the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861, Turner joined the Confederate Army as a surgeon. In September that year, he was on the staff of the General Hospital at C.S. Fort Nelson in Norfolk, Virginia. He was eventually captured and spent the last months of the war in a prisoner of war camp.

 

Publications

Burrage, Henry S, et al. Brown University In the Civil War: A Memorial. Providence: [Providence Press Company, printers], 1868.

Books At Brown. Providence, R.I.: Friends of the Library, Brown University. 20 (1965).  Two articles by historian Robert George on Brown during the Civil War.  Includes an article on Brown University men who were in the Confederate army.  ONLINE ACCESS

World War I

Personal Papers

Brown University World War I correspondence, 1917-1918, MS-1E-3.

Correspondence of Alfred Gurney, Miscellaneous Manuscripts, MS-1ZX.  Several letters while Gurney served in the U.S. Army.

Herbert Eugene Walter papers, 1885-1948 and n.d, MS-1UF-W1. Letters received by Walter from World War I servicemen.

Publications and Scrapbooks

Brown Alumni Monthly, July 1918.

College Scrapbooks.

Topic Files: Brown University-History-World War I, 1-E.

Website

Brown in the Great War.  Project by Public Humanities graduate student utilizing the resources of the University Archives and Special Collections.

World War II

Personal Papers and Records

English themes by World War II veterans, 1946, MS-1N-E1.  A collection of over one-hundred essays written by Brown University students who were veterans of World War II, for an English class in 1947.

Thomas J. Watson, Jr. papers, 1905-1994 (bulk 1940-1981), MS-1U-W1. The Diaries series consists of descriptions of Watson's civilian travels and his experiences during World War II. In 1930 he traveled in Europe and in 1937 he traveled in Europe, Japan, Korea, and China, including Manchuria. The military diaries include detailed descriptions of the Soviet Union and the Pacific islands as well as Watson's personal experiences.

Miscellaneous Manuscripts, MS-1ZX. Letters written by Brown University students and alumni who were in the war:

Dealey, James Quayle                       

Hunt, E. Howard

Mazet, Robert

Manhattan District Project Records, OF-1ZCH-1.  Three boxes of files received from the Department of Energy, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, relating to Brown University Contract with the Manhattan District Project (Manhattan Project), obtained under the Freedom of Information Act, and presented to the Brown University Archives.

 

Publications

Topic Files: Brown University-History-World War II, 1-E.

 

Vietnam War

Website

The Vietnam War: Our Veterans' Stories exhibit and Vietnam Veteran Archives resources.

Additional Subject Guides