iProv

1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.

1900-present; Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research in that it grants users access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centres, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy. The majority of Policy File Index records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.

1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.

1991-present; designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.

1923-present; explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from the environment, health, education and science, technology and social issues.

1983-present; pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need non-partisan information on Capitol Hill. Please use the VPN to access this eresource from off-campus.

Current; National Journal's portfolio of time-saving tools and editorial coverage on policy and politics provides critical insight into the legislative landscape and complex policy issues. Content includes
: thousands of fully editable PowerPoint slides and graphics break down major political and policy issues, including legislative forecasts, profiles on members of Congress/ key administration officials, and policy primers. Pre-made slides and decks for student projects, class lectures, and university communications about what's happening in Washington (including on websites, social media platforms, etc.)
National Journal Daily: information on committees, hearings, markups and legislative insider analysis
The Hotline: includes campaign and election information and analysis
The Almanac of American Politics: biographical information for all members of Congress and governors in addition to demographic information by district and state
Congressional and Federal Staff Directory: searchable and exportable directory of all Members of Congress, congressional staff, committee staff, federal agency and administration contacts
The Daybook: calendar of the important events happening on and off Capitol Hill
Data and Charts: high-quality public policy data sets
Policy Webinars--hosted by in-house experts and featuring various key policy areas and discussing what's next for the new administration and Congress

1935-present; Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.

1789-present; formerly LexisNexis Congressional, these are retrospective collections of the publications of the U. S. Congress, including:
U.S. Congressional Hearings, 1824-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1789-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
U.S. Congressional Record, 1789-1997
U.S. Congressional UnPubished Hearings, Part A and B
For help getting started, see Quick Start Guide for ProQuest Congressional Digital Research Collection.

Current; National Journal's portfolio of time-saving tools and editorial coverage on policy and politics provides critical insight into the legislative landscape and complex policy issues. Content includes
: thousands of fully editable PowerPoint slides and graphics break down major political and policy issues, including legislative forecasts, profiles on members of Congress/ key administration officials, and policy primers. Pre-made slides and decks for student projects, class lectures, and university communications about what's happening in Washington (including on websites, social media platforms, etc.)
National Journal Daily: information on committees, hearings, markups and legislative insider analysis
The Hotline: includes campaign and election information and analysis
The Almanac of American Politics: biographical information for all members of Congress and governors in addition to demographic information by district and state
Congressional and Federal Staff Directory: searchable and exportable directory of all Members of Congress, congressional staff, committee staff, federal agency and administration contacts
The Daybook: calendar of the important events happening on and off Capitol Hill
Data and Charts: high-quality public policy data sets
Policy Webinars--hosted by in-house experts and featuring various key policy areas and discussing what's next for the new administration and Congress

1945-present; The Digital National Security Archive is a joint project between the National Security Archive and ProQuest Information and Learning Company. The DNSA is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 55,000 of the most important, declassified documents (totaling more than 420,000 pages)are included in the database. Many are published now for the first time.

1974-1996; the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was an office within the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency charged with monitoring, translating, and republishing selected foreign radio and television broadcasts, newspaper articles, government news agency releases, conference proceedings, political speeches, and non-classified technical reports. The primary target audiences of these translated reports were officials of the U.S. government. Coverage includes political, military, economic, and environmental topics. Now includes the Daily Reports Annexes, 1974-1976.

1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Global includes more than 2.5 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 (with a few older) to the-present day together with over one million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Global provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

1986-present; this database holds fulltext or abstracts and other descriptive information of Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations from key Chinese research institutions. Covers all disciplines.

The Brown University Theses and Dissertations database includes over 15,000 records for dissertations written and submitted in fulfillment of Brown University degree requirements from 1893 to 2000. Included are undergraduate honors theses, master's theses, and doctoral dissertations. Records include the author's name, thesis title, degree awarded, year, granting department, and when available, thesis advisor. [This resource is publicly available.]

Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.

The manuscripts and archives of Brown University are a rich and diverse resource for students, faculty, and other researchers from a variety of disciplines. The collections are particularly strong in the following areas: American literature (especially poetry and drama), American political and diplomatic history, Rhode Island history, women's studies, history of education, and history of science. The collections are not limited to these areas, however, and new uses and interpretations of the materials are continually being discovered. The BAMCO site does not encompass all of the holdings of the Brown University Library. Interested researchers should consult the Collections A-Z page for further information on our holdings and for contact information. [This resource is publicly available.]

Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.