LibGuides: EDUC 1265: Comparative Education Systems: Governance and Policy: US government, legal, polling &amp; elections

For more information

Federal Government Information

Government Information

USA.gov
U.S. government's official web portal intended to make it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. (General Services Administration)
Congressional Information
An introduction to U.S. Congressional information sources
Federal Government Information on the Web
A brief list of popular web sites from U.S. federal government agencies.
Rhode Island Government
Intergovernmental Organizations
Some resources for finding information from intergovernmental organizations

Elections & Legislative Information

For additional government information, please visit Dan's guides to Federal Government Information and Congressional Information.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to records and publications of the U.S. Congress, 1789-present.
1789-present; formerly LexisNexis Congressional, these are retrospective collections of the publications of the U. S. Congress, including:
U.S. Congressional Hearings, 1824-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1789-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
U.S. Congressional Record, 1789-1997
U.S. Congressional UnPubished Hearings, Part A and B
For help getting started, see Quick Start Guide for ProQuest Congressional Digital Research Collection.

The American Presidency Project
A collaborative effort from the University of California at Santa Barbara, these archives contain 104,106 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes voter turnout, financing elections, election documents, speeches, briefings, statements, and much more.

Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)
A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.

Polling data and public opinion

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Gallup
Provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research. Articles and videos cover news, politics, government, business, economy, behavioral economics, management

Eurobarometer
From the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the EU, this site includes public opinion research on major topics concerning European citizenship.

Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to polling data from public opinion surveys from 110 countries, 1930s-present.
1935-present; Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A compilation of surveys and original poll questions from the United States and more than 80 other countries, 1986-present.
1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.

Legal literature

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical U.S. legislative, congressional, international treatise, court documents and law reviews. Includes access to Fastcase, 1754-present.
1754-present; HeinOnlineAcademic contains more than 100 subject areas including criminal justice, political science, history, women's studies, gender studies, theology, pre-law, and many more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.