Skip to Main Content

Health Sciences resources

Top resources for the health sciences community

LibKey extension (multiple journals and databases)

If you want to connect to full text no matter where you are online, you can install the LibKey browser extension. LibKey Nomad provides one-click article access to library subscriptions. The same "Download PDF" button shows across different platforms - from subscription library databases like JSTOR, to open databases like PubMed and Google Scholar, publisher journal pages, and even Wikipedia references. 

Since it's connected to your browser, you don't have to go through the library website or be logged in to Brown's network to be linked back to our subscriptions. If we don't have the PDF, it will bring you to a page to request an interlibrary loan of the article.

It doesn't require a user account, does not cache user credentials, and does not sell or share user data.

To install:

PubMed

PubMed's publisher-provided links will often bring you to full text. However, if you are off campus and/or are prompted to pay for an article, make sure to use Brown's custom link (accessed through any library page) to ensure you'll see all the options for our subscriptions and interlibrary loan services. You can also bookmark it:

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?myncbishare=brownu

When you are viewing the abstract of an article, click the "Find It" button to connect back to our full text (if we have it), or be prompted to submit an ILL request (if we don't have it). 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar: Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar results now include links to Brown University Library resources.

The Brown links appear as:

  • Find It @ Brown Full Text at the end of the article title if the Library subscribes to full text or
  • Find It @ Brown to search the Library’s catalog or to place an interlibrary loan request.

These links will appear automatically if you are on Brown wireless or the VPN. You may also set Brown as your default library by going to

Settings→ Library Links→ search for Brown→ select Brown University Library→ save.

EndNote

If you are off-campus (i.e., not on the Brown wireless network), you will need to sign in to the VPN to use this feature (otherwise you'll be limited to those articles which are freely available). 

Download and run the VPN F5 Desktop Client.

EndNote can utilize a number of the Brown subscriptions to full-text journal article databases to retrieve the full text of citations in your library. The following instructions are for those on the campus network.

  1. If off-campus, make sure to run the VPN software program (see above).
  2. Highlight the references you'd like to retrieve. 
  3. From the menu at the top select References → Find Full Text → Find Fulltext
  4. OR use the full text icon, shown below
    (PC icon on left, Mac icon on right)

  

 

On the left-hand panel, you will see the Find Full Text search results, and paper clips will show up in the records of the items where full text was found.

This method is not 100% accurate. Occasionally EndNote will not be able to locate articles that Brown does have online. For instances where the full text does not come through, check the reference against the library's eJournals list before making an ILL request.