Primary Sources for History of Health in the Americas

19th century-present; essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations.

Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the-present, was developed by Thomas Dublin and Kathryn Kish Sklar of the State University of New York at Binghamton in an internationally-renown website of the same name.

Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

1898-1958; this collection is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime. In the decades following its independence from Spain in 1898, Cuba adopted the most progressive legislation for women in the western hemisphere. The documents in this collection, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.

As the first in the Womens Studies Archive, this collection traces the path of womens issues from the past to-presentpulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of womens movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights. As a comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Womens Studies Archive: Womens Issues and Identities will focus on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Topics include: the history of feminist theory and activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; womens education; womens movement; womens health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and womens roles and interactions within society.

This collection is considered to be the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages. The broad scope of Gerritsen Online allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. Gerritsen Online consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.

Colonial-1950; ongoing. When complete, the collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Includes materials from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.

1940-2014; with material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940-present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracking LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

1983-1994; briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome.

1945-present; LGBT Life is a resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. LGBT Life also indexes & abstracts the full run of many historically significant titles such as ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, Christopher Street and Body Politic. In addition, grey literature including non-fiction titles, bibliographies, case studies, and dissertations is also represented. Disciplines covered by LGBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology and more.

1829-1922; the African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations including churches and social service agencies.

Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covering nearly three centuries of history. It showcases the writings of teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures. In addition to the most familiar works, the collection shares previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.

Early 18th century --present; this collection covers many topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination and activism and protest movements. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th-century fight for freedom. Major collections in these modules include Civil Rights records from the Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and George H. W. Bush presidencies; the Martin Luther King FBI File and FBI Files on locations of major civil rights demonstrations like Montgomery and Selma, Alabama or St. Augustine, Florida; and the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), National Association of Colored Womens Clubs (NACWC), Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).

1490-2007; Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice is a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering more than five centuries from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world and the Mediterranean with contextual essays by prominent scholars in the field. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continuing existence of slavery today.

The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.

Arte Pblico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and womens rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The database features over manuscript content, newspaper titles, and books. The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture.