Primary Sources for History of Health in the Americas

1805-1922; provides 280 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. The Library owns series 1 and series 2 of this resource.

1808-1980; created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English

1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

1829-1922; the African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations including churches and social service agencies.

1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Current; Latin American Newsstream includes eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin American countries give added coverage and perspective. To round out the coverage, Latin American Newsstream also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.