LibGuides: Primary Sources for History of Health in the Americas: Health Resources

Core Article Databases

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, and includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE for biomedical and public health articles. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources and has an international coverage.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Offers citations for journal articles and bibliographic records on all aspects of agriculture
1970-present; articles, book chapters on agriculture, animal sciences, plant sciences, nutrition. [This resource is publicly available.]
Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas, 1973-present

WHO Global Health Library
Searches multiple global health sites.

Regional article databases

Virtual Health Library (BIREME-PAHO-WHO)
The VHL provides research portals for evidence-based practice, health technology, and more, as well as specialized resources in disaster medicine, environmental health, and more. T
more...less...
he Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences, also known by its original name Regional Library of Medicine (BIREME, acronym in Portuguese), is a specialized center of the Pan American Health Organization World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO) oriented to technical cooperation in scientific health information. The headquarters of BIREME is located in Brazil, in the central campus of the Universidade Federal de São Paulo (UNIFESP) since its creation in 1967, according to agreement between PAHO and the Government of Brazil.
SciELO
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online), is a bibliographic database and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian countries. It contains 638 scientific journals from disciplines in the health and life sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
LILACS
LILACS is an important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. The search interface is in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Redalyc
This database includes over 620 academic journals, covering health & life sciences, social sciences and humanities, mostly in Spanish or Portuguese. All articles are available full-text and the interface is available in Spanish, Portuguese, English and French.
more...less...
Redalyc is an effort working under Open Access supported by the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico.
ADOLEC: Literature on Adolescent Health
From BIREME/PAHO/WHO - Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information.
Biblioteca Virtual en Desarrollo Sostenible y Salud
Articles on sustainable development and health topics; in multiple languages.

Background Sources

International Development Research Centre
The IDRC Digital Library provides the international research community with access to a current and comprehensive collection of research results and documents about a wide range of subjects related to international development.
more...less...
The IDRC Digital Library is an open access repository of research results and documents generated by IDRC-funded projects, IDRC funding recipients, and IDRC staff.
The IDRC Digital Library includes
-Final technical reports (from IDRC projects)
-Theses
-Articles written by IDRC-supported researchers and IDRC staff
-Books written by IDRC-supported researchers and IDRC staff
-Workshop reports
-Conference proceedings
-Evaluation reports
UN Millennium Development Goals
The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions.
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization (WHO) is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system.
more...less...
This website provides access to country profiles; information about WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products, and contacts; WHO publications; data and statistics sources; WHO programmes, partnerships and other projects.

Core WHO/UN resources

PAHO (Pan-American Health Organization)
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System and as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
UNdata
A single entry point to United Nations statistical databases.
UNICEF Customized Statistical Tables
"The statistical tool includes economic and social data from 195 countries and territories, with particular reference to children’s well-being. Users can choose their countries and indicators to build tables on the fly, or download the numbers into an Excel spreadsheet. These statistics are derived from UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World’s Children." [provider description]
WHO annual World Health Statistics report
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States.
WHO Global Health Observatory
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics from around the world.
more...less...
The aim of the GHO is to:
-compile and verify major sources of health data;
-provide easy access to country data and metadata;
-present scientifically sound information in user-friendly formats.

Additional Global Data Sites

CANCERMondial
Provides data on cancer incidence world-wide. Managed by the Cancer Information Section (CIN) of WHO's International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC).
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
The GHDx is a data catalog listing information about microdata, aggregated data, and research results with a focus on health-related and demographic datasets.
Global Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators. A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
more...less...
The KFF's global health gateway serves as an online clearinghouse for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health. It brings together original policy analysis and research from the Foundation, provides the new daily news synthesis, Daily Global Health Policy Report, tracks legislation through a new Policy Tracker, and features fact sheets, country-level data through Kaiser's Global Health Facts, and more. These resources are designed to offer a comprehensive picture of the U.S. global health policy landscape, highlighting key issues facing policymakers, journalists, non governmental organizations, and others working in the global health arena. The Foundation receives substantial support for the global health gateway and its work on global health policy from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.
MEASURE Demographic and Health Surveys
National and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/STIs, infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition.
World Bank Open Data
Download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.

World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National, regional, and global socio-economic data and time series from the World Bank, current
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.