LibGuides: Bioengineering & Biotechnology: Industry Trends

In-Depth Guides

Industry & Market Reports
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated May 23, 2024 662 views this year
Business Literature
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated Aug 30, 2024 338 views this year
Company Information
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated May 23, 2024 437 views this year
Consumer/Customer Research
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated Aug 21, 2023 228 views this year
Patents
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated Sep 19, 2023 179 views this year

Databases for Industry & Market Research Reports

Industry
Market

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to industry research reports U.S. and select international markets, current.
Current; IBISWorld provides access to two collections of research reports for business and marketing information. Industry Market Research Reports (typically 30-40 page reports) are available for 700 US industries; reports include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and industry outlook. US Specialized Industry Reports are market research reports for small or new industries. New reports are added every week.
ProQuest Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Access a selection of Industry Overviews and Reports from publishers like Fitch, Mergent, Plunkett, and EIU. From the search page, click Browse, then select Industries to see a list of Industry Overviews organized by NAICS code. Click Industry Reports to see more options.
Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CB Insights is a venture capital and angel investment database that provides daily real-time information about venture capital and angel investor-backed startup companies, venture capital companies, angel investors and transactions in the United States; current.
PLEASE NOTE: If you are a first time user, you must register for an account using your @brown.edu email address. You need to be on campus or connected to the VPN when you create your account.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, data, market research, and industry reports on a variety of topics.
Current; Statista is a provider of market and consumer data. Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. To provide feedback on this trial, please contact the Social Sciences Librarians.
For off-campus access, please use the VPN.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to MarketLine Industry Reports and reports from other publishers. Click Advanced Search and select document type: Industry.
1886-present; Business Source Complete is a database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access Hoovers Industry Snapshots, BMI Industry profies and more. From the top Menu select Sources to see all available publishers.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dow Jones Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, one of the leading global providers of economic and financial information. This database provides access to premium content from 200 countries, in 32 languages.

RKMA Handbooks
This series compiles statistics, trands and data on a variety of consumer industries, including consumers and companies. They can be very long, so review the Table of Contents and 'find within' to find a keyword within the report

US Industry Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of US government statistics covering all aspects of American society, 1878-present.
1990-2016; the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

BLS - Industries at a Glance
The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides industry overviews based on the NAICS supersector, sector, and industry.
Census Data | Economic Census By Year

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, data, market research, and industry reports on a variety of topics.
Current; Statista is a provider of market and consumer data. Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. To provide feedback on this trial, please contact the Social Sciences Librarians.
For off-campus access, please use the VPN.
ProQuest Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Access a selection of Market Research and Reports. Click Advanced Search, then select Market research and Market Reports from the Document Type options. Contains market research from JP Morgan Chase, First Research, Fitch, BMI, The Financial Times, Oxford Economics, and more.
Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CB Insights is a venture capital and angel investment database that provides daily real-time information about venture capital and angel investor-backed startup companies, venture capital companies, angel investors and transactions in the United States; current.
PLEASE NOTE: If you are a first time user, you must register for an account using your @brown.edu email address. You need to be on campus or connected to the VPN when you create your account.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find market and emerging technology reports, market maps and market size estimates. For reports, click "Research Center" from the menu. Maps and Estimates are under the Market Analysis Section. Brown users have access to the reports produced by Pitchbook Analysts.
Current; private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information, data and statistics on companies, deals, funds, service providers and investors.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to market research reports from a variety of publishers. Click Advanced Search and select publication type: Market Research Report.
1886-present; Business Source Complete is a database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.