LibGuides: Bioengineering & Biotechnology: Healthcare Reference

Clinical Summaries

Clinical, or point of care summaries are regularly updated to incorporate the latest evidence on clinical topics. They are designed for clinicians but can be helpful as an overview.

DynaMed contains summary pages with the following general structure: Overview and recommendations, general information, epidemiology, etiology and pathogenesis, history and physical, diagnosis, management, complications and prognosis, prevention and screening, patient information, and ICD codes.

ClinicalKey is a platform which contains searchable book chapters, journal articles, multimedia, and clinical overviews.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find point-of-care, evidence-based clinical topic summaries, current.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides >1000 medical and public health books and textbooks, in addition to clinical topic summaries, clinical calculators, procedures videos and other multimedia resources, and drug references.

Healthcare Utilization

AHA Annual Survey Databases with Financial Data (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access annual survey data provided by 6,200 hospitals and 400 health care systems.
The American Hospital Association (AHA) is the national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities. Data collected by the American Hospital Association represents the single best source for credible, consistent information about the nations hospitals. AHA Data provides easy, streamlined access to multiple data sets that cover demographic, operational, financial and IT characteristics of the nations hospitals.

AHA Annual Survey Databases (ASDB) with Financial Data (CMS-HCRIS sourced)
- Extract valuable demographic, operational, staffing, employment model, insurance and utilization characteristics for hospitals providing an essential foundation to valuable health care research
- Support longitudinal healthcare research with a full decade or more of ASDB data
- Gain a broader financial view of Medicare Certified hospitals including income statement, balance sheet, and key calculated metrics

Use of WRDS is limited to academic research purposes; additional restrictions apply. See WRDS Terms of Use in your account for details.

HCUPNet (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project)
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system that provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of core basic and clinical medical texts, plus clerkship study guides, Case Files, a differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), procedural videos, an image gallery, and other multimedia content.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current; provides access to the DSM, psychiatric resources including journals, textbooks, self-assessment tools for study, board certification, and clinical and research news.