Skip to main content

Citation

Information on citation, citation management software, plagiarism, copyright, fair use, and creative commons

Zotero Pages

Zotero Web Site: 

http://www.zotero.org

Zotero Sections

Install

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It runs on Mac, Windows and Linux as a standalone application. Zotero can also synchronize and keep a copy of your library on its servers, so that you can access your citations from multiple computers and devices. It can also store notes and copies of pdfs or web pages along with citations, so it can be used as a research management tool as well. 

Getting Started: 

You can use Zotero as a stand alone application or in your Firefox browser. We recommend that you install Zotero as a stand alone application.

  • Download Zotero 5.0: https://www.zotero.org/download
  • Download the Zotero Connector: https://www.zotero.org/download/
  • In Zotero Preferences, under the Cite tab, Install the word processor plugins for Word or Libre Office.
  •  Optional but highly recommended: If you want to use Zotero from more than one computer or to use shared libraries and groups, make an account on zotero.org. [Register link on the upper right hand corner of www.zotero.org ]

Collecting Citations, Documents, Web pages, PDFs

Entering Citations in Zotero:

Build your research library
Add an article to your Zotero library by navigating to the library catalog or website that hosts the resource and clicking on the yellow (or grey) folder icon. It will appear somewhere on the top of your screen, depending on your computer.

Zotero can sense research articles on the page and will ask you what articles you’d like to save to your collection.

 

Collections and Groups

Organizing Citations and Collaborating

Organize your collections
Now that you have collected a few articles, you can get organized. Click the folder icon on the upper left hand of your screen to create a new collection. Drag and drop the relevant articles into that folder.

Consider adding notes on your articles to save your ideas for later.

Add tags to your research to easily search themes in your collection.

 

Collaborate with colleagues
Collaborate with others by joining groups or creating your own. Try creating a new group and adding one of your colleagues. Now you can share resources.

 

Easily cite your research in a variety of styles (e.g. Chicago, MLA, APA).
For more information on entering citations see the Zotero Quick Start Guide, the "Getting stuff into your Library" page, and the "Getting stuff into your Library" screencast. Also the Eastern Michigan University Zotero Guide

Your Zotero Library: All citations are part of your Zotero library

Collections:  A citation may be a member of one or more collections. This can be very useful when collecting references for a project. 

Tags: Tags are user assigned, and provide another way to group and categorize citations across collections.

Group Libraries: If you have an account on the Zotero server, you may be a member of group bibliographies. These will also appear in your Zoter stand alone application. 

For more information on Grouping see the Zotero Quick Start documenation, the Zotero documentation pages under the heading "Organizing your Library and Taking Notes" and the videos on "Managing your Library". 

 

Create a Bibliography

You can use Zotero to add properly formatted citations in footnotes and bibliographies in Microsoft Word and LibreOffice/OpenOffice/NeoOffice. 

  • You can drag and drop citations from the center column of Zotero into any text document.
  • You can highlight items in the center column of the Zotero app, right click [CTRL-click on Macs] citations and select "Create Bibliography."
  • You can install the Word Processor plugins, and use the built in Zotero commands to insert bibliography into your paper. For more information see the Zotero documentation on Word Processor Integration. You can also install the word processor plugin from the Zotero Preferences Cite tab.