LibGuides: Company Information: Home

Company Reports and Profiles

The following tools contain compiled profiles and reports for a specific company or corporate family. The reports may also contain information on leadership and board membership, corporate structure (governance, ownership, & subsidiaries), and key products for an individual company. Be aware that information on publicly traded companies is generally easier to find and more reliable than information on private entities.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni contains information on U.S. and international companies. Source for Hoovers and D&B Company Reports.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
Eikon / Datastream
Comprehensive financial and economic database. Available via workstation in the Sciences Library. Contact socscilibrarians@brown.edu for first time users.
Current; comprehensive financial database covering markets, equities, equity indices, bonds, bond indices, futures, warrants, options, current and historical company and economic information. Data visualizations and Datastream for Office are available on a single workstation; login credentials are available at the circulation desk in the Rockefeller Library.
Orbis by Bureau van Dijk This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on corporate structures, credit default swaps, credit and supplier risk, compliance and financial crime, transfer pricing analysis, financial ratios.
Use Orbis to find, analyze and compare more than 310 million companies across the globe. Discover information on corporate structures, credit default swaps, credit and supplier risk, compliance and financial crime, transfer pricing analysis, financial ratios, and more. Excellent resource for business development, M&A, peer bench-marking, and competitive intelligence research.

Turn on VPN to use this resource.
ProQuest Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles, trade publications, market research reports, as well as major news publications for business, marketing and entrepreneurship research and practice
Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.

Lists of companies by specified criteria

The following tools can be used to create a list of companies based on a variety of specified criteria like industry or vertical, number of employees, geographic location, etc.

Company Dossier via NexisUni
This tool from LexisNexis mines data from numerous company and financial sources for more than 80,000,000 public and private companies worldwide. Company Dossier offers the option to search for a company profile, compare companies and build company lists.
Company Search via Business Source Complete
The Company View component of Business Source Complete provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Data includes financials, subsidiaries, products, employees, industry information and more.

Orbis by Bureau van Dijk This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on corporate structures, credit default swaps, credit and supplier risk, compliance and financial crime, transfer pricing analysis, financial ratios.
Use Orbis to find, analyze and compare more than 310 million companies across the globe. Discover information on corporate structures, credit default swaps, credit and supplier risk, compliance and financial crime, transfer pricing analysis, financial ratios, and more. Excellent resource for business development, M&A, peer bench-marking, and competitive intelligence research.

Turn on VPN to use this resource.
Prowessdx Service / CMIE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Key financial data for over 40,000 Indian companies.
Current; detailed financial information with time-series data for 40,000 public and private companies in India.
Eikon / Datastream
Comprehensive financial and economic database. Available via workstation in the Sciences Library. Contact socscilibrarians@brown.edu for first time users.
Current; comprehensive financial database covering markets, equities, equity indices, bonds, bond indices, futures, warrants, options, current and historical company and economic information. Data visualizations and Datastream for Office are available on a single workstation; login credentials are available at the circulation desk in the Rockefeller Library.
AtoZdatabases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A directory with data on individual businesses in the United States, current.
Current; AtoZdatabasesis a reference and marketing database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and more.

Startups, venture capital, & private equity

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CB Insights is a venture capital and angel investment database that provides daily real-time information about venture capital and angel investor-backed startup companies, venture capital companies, angel investors and transactions in the United States; current.
PLEASE NOTE: If you are a first time user, you must register for an account using your @brown.edu email address. You need to be on campus or connected to the VPN when you create your account.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to private equity and venture capital investment history with in-depth information, data, and statistics on companies, deals, funds, service providers, and investors, current.

First time users must register for an account.
Current; private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information, data and statistics on companies, deals, funds, service providers and investors.

Non-Profit Company Information

National Center for Charitable Statistics
1989-present: NCCS Data Web, maintained by the National Center for Charitable Statistics, offers a wealth of data about the non-profit sector in the United States. Data include the Business Master File (BMF), which has descriptive data on organizations registered with the IRS; IRS Return Transaction Files (RTF), which contains financial data for organizations that file IRS Forms 990, Form 990-EZ, or Form 990-PF; and IRS Statistics of Income Sample Files (SOI), which has 300 variables for 501(c)(3) organizations.
Guidestar via NexisUni
GuideStar provides information on nonprofit organizations such as verifying a nonprofit's legitimacy, learning whether a contribution will be tax deductible, or finding out more about its mission, programs, and finances. The information in NexisUni is updated quarterly.

Earnings Calls

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Earnings calls are published in Fair Disclosure (FD) Wire.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fair Disclosure (FD) Wire is also available in Factiva.
Eikon / Datastream
To find conference call transcripts, go to Advanced Search under the Research tab.

First time users contact socscilibrarians@brown.edu to set up an account.
Current; comprehensive financial database covering markets, equities, equity indices, bonds, bond indices, futures, warrants, options, current and historical company and economic information. Data visualizations and Datastream for Office are available on a single workstation; login credentials are available at the circulation desk in the Rockefeller Library.

Merger & Acquisition

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executive. Search Press Releases for M&A reports - check individual company history with analyst reports.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives

Guide to M&A Data in WRDS
This document reviews several research areas related to mergers and acquisitions (M&A) with the intent of facilitating future research in this area. Includes a discussion of issues related to using CRSP and COMPUSTAT databases for M&A research. WRDS Account requests are limited to Faculty/Grad students - undergraduate students should contact professor for class access.
SDC Platinum
Contact socscilibrarians@brown.edu for information about accessing SDC Platinum.

Registries

State Corporation Registrar
View state business registration pages and corporate name databases by selecting a desired state/territory. Maintained by the National Association of Secretaries of State.
Companies House List
Companies House (UK.gov) has created a list of company registries located around the world. Please note that it is not a comprehensive list. The links are grouped by region.

Public Filings in the US

EDGAR
Free, searchable database of all public filings, from foreign and domestic entities, with the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).
SEC Filings via Nexis Uni
Search across SEC filings using the Nexis Uni interface.
Links to all 50 Business Divisions of the States
For specific information on a particular entity, including officers and state annual reports, refer to the business division in the state of incorporation.