Offers more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early 18th century to the beginning of the 20th century.
Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama 1714-1915 reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented.
Contains the full text of more than 250 plays by 42 Asian-American dramatists, including many works that are otherwise unpublished, along with production and thematic information.
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and it is planned to include contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the-present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the-present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Provides access to 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the 20th century.
This edition of North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.
An ever-growing database of scripts by contemporary playwrights, New Play Exchange provides an open, egalitarian platform on which writers can share their work and others can discover it.
The New Play Exchange, a National New Play Network project, is the worlds largest digital library of scripts by living writers. The mission of the New Play Exchange is to provide an open, egalitarian platform on which writers all over the world can share their work and others can discover that work.
Stream videos of 37 Shakespeare plays that the BBC produced for television broadcast between 1978 and 1985.
This collection includes streaming videos of the 37 Shakespeare plays that the BBC produced for television broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the series created by Cedric Messina. The videos include performances by some of Britain's most distinguished actors and actresses. Each play may be viewed in its entirety or each act may be viewed separately. All videos have optional closed captioning.
Provides access to 11 major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-66, 28 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected Apocrypha, and related works, 1591-1911
Eleven major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-66, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected Apocrypha and related works and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Provides access to more than 100,000 images from the Folger Shakespeare Library Collection
This collection offers access to tens of thousands of high resolution images from the Folger Shakespeare Library, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, art, and more. Users can show multiple images side-by-side, zoom in and out, view cataloging information when available, export thumbnails, and construct permanent URLs linking back to their favorite items or searches. [This resource is publicly available.]
A collection of documents, offering insights into the performance practice in the reconstructed Globe Theatre, through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, photographs
This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
Contains rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library, between 17th-20th centuries.
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeares plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Provides access to Shakespeare-related scholarship, 1960-present
1960-2012; the current release of the World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and 2012.