LibGuides: English: Poetry Resources

Poetry Resources

American Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, from the Colonial American period to the early 20th century
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access more than 50,000 poems by more than 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
This essential collection brings together over 100,000 of the most important and influential poems representing the full range of movements and traditions in American poetry from 1900 to the-present day including Maya Angelou, John Ashbery Gwendolyn Brooks, Clark Coolidge, Rita Dove, Susan Howe, Langston Hughes, W.S. Merwin, Ezra Pound, Adrienne Rich, Wallace Stevens and William Carlos Williams.
African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries
African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition.
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
Canadian Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 19,000 poems by 177 poets drawn from more than 700 printed sources from the 17th century to the early 20th
Created in partnership with the Electronic Text Centre at the University of New Brunswick Libraries, this unique collection contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems, offering a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
English Poetry, Second Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Builds on the original English Poetry collection from the British Isles with the addition of more than 20,000 poems from several new categories.
English Poetry, Second Edition redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection. The collection now offers incomparable representation both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only been brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 600 volumes of poetry, 1900-present. Poets include W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah, and Carol Ann Duffy.
A collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by poets from 1900 to the-present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of influential poetry of the 20th century
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the seventy-year history of this major publishing house, and includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney.