Current; designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings. Both print and electronic resources are available to help design and build construction projects from a whole-systems perspective and take an integrated design approach that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. BuildingGreen.com publishes Environmental Building News, the GreenSpec directory of green products, and the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools.
Current; GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
The most comprehensive searchable index to EPA published documents, both paper and electronic. Includes EPA publications, government reports, books, journals, videos, CD-ROMs and DVDs. Sources include the EPA National Library Network, National Technical Information Service (NTIS) reports, Air Pollution Technical Information Center documents (pre-1978), Ground Water Ecosystems Restoration and the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NCSEP). [This resource is publicly available.]
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Global includes more than 2.5 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 (with a few older) to the present day together with over one million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Global provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
2000-present; the BioOne bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 65 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers. Subject coverage includes: economic botany, entomology, environmental science, evolutionary biology, genetics, microbiology, natural history, photobiology, veterinary science and zoology.
1973-present; Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas. This database contains information from more than 3,500 serials, books, conference proceedings, and patents.
The World Health Organization's portal to databases generated by its regional health offices for Africa, Southeast Asia, Eastern Mediterranean, Latin America and the Caribbean and the Western Pacific Regions. This is local information meant to supplement PubMed, etc. Also included is WHOLIS, the database of WHO publications from 1948 onwards and articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents from 1985 to the present.
1995-present; provides access to full-text DOE research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. [This resource is publicly available.]
Current; Engineering Information Village makes available all the resources of the paper and CD-ROM versions of Engineering Index. In addition, it includes links to the latest in technological and world news, career information, and a document delivery service.
1970-present; INIS is the leading reference database for scientific literature published worldwide on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. Coverage is international and provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of journal articles, scientific and technical reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards, and web documents. Also includes a unique online collection of full text documents: scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents, theses, and preprints. [This resource is publicly available.]
Current; Knovel aggregates the content (books and databases) of major science and engineering publishers. The resource is searched like a database for book titles, topics, and, more importantly, specific data within interactive tables and graphs.
For help getting started see Knovel Library Video Tutorials. Knovel's "flagship" books are the Plastics Design Library Series, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, ChemEssentials, Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers along with the ASME Boiler and Pressure vessel codes, Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects, Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens, Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, and, Patty's Toxicology and Industrial Hygiene. Knovel has recently partnered with the American Institute of Chemical Engineers to make available the many important books in the Center for Chemical Process Safety Guidelines Series. Lastly, Knovel has many of the important DoD Military Handbooks, including a fully interactive version of MIL-HDBK-5H: Metallic Materials and Elements for Aerospace Vehicle Structures.
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.