LibGuides: Environmental Studies: Political Ecology

How to find Journals in Political Ecology

Below are examples of journals that are focused on political ecology, however, you may find relevant literature in a more general database for environmental science, policy, engineering and other related fields.

To locate additional journals, search BruKnow using the subject field for Periodicals + your topic. Here is a BruKnow search to get started:

BruKnow Search for Periodicals about the Environment

Journals in Environmental Science (sample):

Articles and Grey Literature

The following databases contain articles and grey literature. Some databases will contain a filter to limit your search to only show peer-reviewed articles but others will not. Remember to evaluate each article for it's relevancy to your research question and intended audience.

For help with search technique, see this tutorial on using keywords:

Databases for In Depth Searching

Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research on environmental studies and related disciplines, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, public policy, and environmental law, 1888-present.
Current; The Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, current.
Current; GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, 1969-present
1969-present; Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and other publications for all major social science disciplines, 1900-present.
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.

For more, see the following guides:

Engineering
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated Jun 3, 2024 176 views this year
Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated May 9, 2023 132 views this year
Sociology
by Cass Wilkinson Saldaña Last Updated Sep 18, 2024 825 views this year
Public Policy
by Carina Cournoyer Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 507 views this year
Public Health
by Erika Sevetson Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 661 views this year
Economics
by Cass Wilkinson Saldaña Last Updated Sep 18, 2023 622 views this year
Political Science
by Carina Cournoyer Last Updated Oct 16, 2024 641 views this year

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth reports on a single theme or issue from the news each week, 1923-present
1923-present; explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from the environment, health, education and science, technology and social issues.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, 1914-present.
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National, regional, and global socio-economic data and time series from the World Bank, current
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

For more:

Public Policy
by Carina Cournoyer Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 507 views this year

EPA Laws and Regulations

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to records and publications of the U.S. Congress, 1789-present, including Congressional Research Service Reports. The CRS "works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century. The products in this collection were created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties."
1789-present; formerly LexisNexis Congressional, these are retrospective collections of the publications of the U. S. Congress, including:
U.S. Congressional Hearings, 1824-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1789-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
U.S. Congressional Record, 1789-1997
U.S. Congressional UnPubished Hearings, Part A and B
For help getting started, see Quick Start Guide for ProQuest Congressional Digital Research Collection.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 7,000 local, regional, national, and international news sources, current
Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines
1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.

For more:

Newspapers, Broadcast News & Popular Magazines
by Karen Bouchard Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 13204 views this year

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.