Japanese Studies

National union catalog for Japan, from the National Diet Library. Besides books and journals, it contains information on maps, dissertations, rare books, audio-visual materials, and electronic resources. Digitized versions of 100,000+ volumes of monographs published before 1912 are linked directly from each record.

This new online tool allows users to access full-text versions of over 340,000 books from Meiji, Taishō and early Shōwa periods in the collection of the National Diet Library.

A database of pre-Meiji materials maintained by the National Institute of Japanese Literature (Kokubungaku Kenkyu Shiryōkan). This is a union catalogue of early Japanese books. (It also includes Chinese classics and books of the Meiji period). It provides authoritative information about Japanese classical literary works and their authors. It also provides bibliographic information on early Japanese books, and their holding libraries.

Union catalog of university libraries in Japan. Good content description.

Citation index to over 15 million articles published in Japanese academic journal with limited free full text access (3.7 million articles). Both Japanese and English interfaces are available.

The Social Science Japan Data Archive (SSJDA) collects, maintains, and provides access to quantitative data from social surveys for the academic community. Most of the data is provided in Japanese only. To access data in English, see http://ssjda.iss.u-tokyo.ac.jp/en/access/how/ The archive is maintained by the Information Center for Social Research on Japan at the University of Tokyo.

Journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, and research papers, which are accumulated in Japanese institutional repositories, can be searched for cross-sectionally. Full text access to 1 million articles.

Full-text database of 500,000+ newspaper-clippings from the early 1910s to 1970, created by Kobe University’s Research Institute for Economics and Business Administration.

Various statistical data provided by the Bank of Japan.

Both current and long-term statistics are available.

Last five years of figures pertaining to the government budget, government bonds, trade statistics, etc.

Statistical data on health and welfare as well as labor issues.

Polls and surveys conducted by the institute since 2000. Brief English-language summaries of some reports are available at http://www.nhk.or.jp/bunken/english/reports/index.html

Full text of selected polls and surveys conducted by the government since 2005.

Gateway to statistics generated by government offices.

The largest digital image database in Japan. Contains over 120,000 photographs from prewar era and over 200,000 photographs since 1998.

This photographic database contains Yomiuri Shimbun photographs from the 1930s to the present.

Links to other databases of images of Japan.