Brown-owned. Sheet music from the McLellan Lincoln Collection at the Hay Library written between 1859 and 1923. Music about Lincoln ranging from popular song to compositions for orchestral performance.
The Civil War Sheet Music Collection includes over 2500 pieces selected from the library's collections. Music from both the North and the South is represented in this collection.
Collection of 174 items curated to highlight many of the songs that are part of the American national heritage. Due to copyright considerations, some songs are only available as excerpts.
A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content from more than 500 music producers and distributors around the world.
Music Online: Listening brings together on a single cross-searchable platform the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music products to which the Brown University Library subscribes. Databases include:
The National Jukebox is a project to digitize a part of the Library of Congress's holdings in early sound recordings. From their website: "the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others."
Current; Naxos Music Library is a unique resource of classical music online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Users can access and play the entire catalogue of Naxos recordings, selecting works, for example, by composer, artist, period, year of composition, solo instrument or genre. Playlists can easily be created for educational use and hours of continuous enjoyment. Includes notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. This database has conflicts with Firefox on Mac computers. We recommend you use Safari or Chrome instead.
The RId'IM database contains descriptions of visual objects that depict music-making, musical instruments, and similar related objects. Where possible, there are links to online images of the artwork.
This link opens in a new window
