LibGuides: Nonfiction Writing Program in the Department of English: Newspapers and News Sources

Newspapers

Brown subscribes to many online newspapers with content ranging from the 19th century to the current day. We also own many physical newspapers and other resources on microfilm.

For complete list of recent newspapers (1980-present), see our Online Newspapers page.

For complete list of older news coverage, see our resource guides for Historical Periodicals and Historical Newspapers.

Government Information

These guides will help you find resources, statistics, and documents from the governments listed below:

Federal Government Information

Rhode Island Government Information

News Sources

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 7,000 local, regional, national, and international news sources, current
Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. Newspapers including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune; 1980-present.
1980-present; US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search recent and archival U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites, 1980-present
1980-present; US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full text format.
EUREKA This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news and current events in English, French, Spanish, and other languages, current.
Current; Eureka is a database of news and current events that contains more than 115-million articles from over 2,500 daily newspapers, journals, magazines, news wires, tv transcripts and others covering more than 20 years. Sources from every state in the USA, from every province in Canada and from all over the world bring you the latest news in English, French, Spanish and other languages.
RavenPackNews Analytics (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Source for analyzing and identify corporate activity and financial information from unstructured news publications.
RavenPack News Analytics (RPNA) provides real-time structured sentiment, relevance and novelty data for entities and events detected in the unstructured text published by reputable content sources. Publishers include Dow Jones Newswires, the Wall Street Journal and over 19,000 other traditional and social media sites. RavenPack News Analytics is used to enhance returns or improve efficiency by quantitative & algorithmic traders, automated market-makers, portfolio managers, risk managers and surveillance analysts. Over 16 years of millisecond time-stamped data is available for backtesting.

Use of WRDS is limited to academic research purposes; additional restrictions apply. See WRDS Terms of Use in your account for details.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines
1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent local, national, and regional news content from Latin America, current.
Current; Latin American Newsstream includes eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin American countries give added coverage and perspective. To round out the coverage, Latin American Newsstream also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces, 1984-present
1984-present; incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. Full text is available from 1993-present.
US Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English.
Dates vary; US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinin (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). All of the content in ProQuest US Hispanic Newsstream is available on the ProQuest platform and is cross-searchable with other ProQuest databases.

Statistics

For social science data resources, visit the Library's Social Sciences Data Resources guide.

For resources related to health statistics, visit the Library's Public Health resource guide.

For resources relating to polling data, visit the Library's Political Science resource guide.