LibGuides: SOC 1128 Migrants, Refugees and the Mediterranean: Unit 3: Organizations

Directories

UN Integrated Civil Society Organizations System
Use the Advanced Search to filter organizations by "Areas of expertise & Fields of activity"

Statistics

Statistics on international migration may be available from each individual national statistical office. You can also find statistics in BruKnow but searching the subject field for country name and (census or statistics). For example: Egypt AND (census or statistics)

Additional sources for statistics are outlined on this guide on Migration, Immigration, Diasporas, and Refugees from Princeton University Library.

Mediterranean Migration and Refugee Statistics and Data

UNHCR Data Portal for the Mediterranean
The Operational Data Portal (ODP) was created in 2011 to enable UNHCR’s institutional responsibility to provide an information and data sharing platform to facilitate coordination of refugee emergencies.
Missing Migrants Project Data Portal
Records incidents in which migrants, including refugees and asylum-seekers, have died at state borders or in the process of migrating to an international destination.
Migration Data Portal: Focus on Europe
Provides access to comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally.
OECD - Migration Statistics
The EU's Asylum Statistics
Amnesty International - The Syrian Refugee Crisis in Numbers
Asylum Information Database (AIDA)
AIDA is a database managed by the European Council on Refugees and Exiles (ECRE), containing information on asylum procedures, reception conditions, detention and content of international protection across 23 countries.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 250,000 datasets in the social and behavioral sciences. The database hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, data, market research, and industry reports on a variety of topics.
Current; Statista is a provider of market and consumer data. Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. To provide feedback on this trial, please contact the Social Sciences Librarians.
For off-campus access, please use the VPN.