Skip to main content

eBook collections available at the Brown University Library

Brown University Libraries have an extensive collection of ebooks in a variety of disciplines. This guide will assist you in searching for, accessing, and downloading digital content.

eBook collections at the Brown University Library

Most of our ebooks are cataloged and findable in Josiah or Classic Josiah. Some of our featured collections include:

his link opens in a new window

This link opens in a new window
2001-present; KSI Ebook contains over 4000 Korean ebooks, including academic monographs, dissertations and theses, covering a wide range of subjects in the arts and humanities (literature, philosophy, history), social sciences (economics, law, welfare), natural and medical science. For assistance in searching, try the KSI Ebook Guide.
Ebook Central is an ebook platform that integrates the strengths of ebrary and EBL, plus adds new functionality. At the core of Ebook Central is an exhaustive selection of authoritative, scholarly content — 790,000 titles and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. An average of 100,000 newly published titles will be added each year.
 
This link opens in a new windowThis link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBook Academic Subscription Collection is a growing ebook subscription package containing a large selection of multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. It contains more than 113,000 titles; all titles are available with unlimited user access. Subject coverage includes art, business & economics, education, language arts & discipline, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, and technology & engineering.
 
This link opens in a new window
Full text Chinese ebooks provided by Super Star. Brown Library currently has a collection of over 1,100 selected Chinamaxx ebooks in a wide range of subjects of areas. New selections may be added in the future.
 
This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of ebooks that includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
 
This link opens in a new window
Safari Books Online is an ebook collection concerning technology, digital media, and business for academic and library users. You are accessing a custom collection that contains a subset of 205 titles from Safari Books Online's overall content.
 
This link opens in a new window
1953-current; SIAM contains the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Digital Library of its journals. The Digital Library consists of SIAM Journals Online (1997-present)LOCUS (1953-1996)and SIAM Ebooks. Discovery of articles is achieved with the Scitation search tool.
 
This link opens in a new window
Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. Also provides links to Han'guk haksul chŏngbo wŏnmun deit'ŏbeisu, Han'guk haksul chŏngbo tanhaengbon mit ebook, Chŏnja jŏnŏl sŏbisŭ DBpia, Chisik rep'ŏrŏnsŭ sŏbisŭ KRpia, KoreaA2Z-Han'gukhak DB k'ont'ench'ŭ, Dijit'ŏl munhwa yesul kangjwa, Han'guk hyŏndaesa t'onghap deit'ŏbeisŭ, Pukhan haksulchi t'onghap deit'ŏbeisŭ, Han'guk yŏksa munhwa chosa charyo deit'ŏbeisŭ, Yŏksa munhwa sirijŭ, Lo aen bi pŏmnyul chŏngbo sŏbisŭ.

Please use either Firefox or Internet Explorer for this database. Does NOT work well with Chrome.
 
2004 edition; covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, this title helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
 
This link opens in a new window
1990-present; the SPIE Digital Library is an extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 300,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings. Contents of the SPIE Digital Library Proceedings of SPIE: Starting at Volume 1200 (1990)* Optical Engineering: Starting at Volume 29 (1990) Journal of Electronic Imaging: Starting at Volume 1 (1992) Journal of Biomedical Optics: Starting at Volume 1 (1996) Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS: Starting at Volume 1 (2002) Journal of Applied Remote Sensing: Starting at Volume 1 (2007) Journal of Nanophotonics: Starting at Volume 1 (2007) Journal of Photonics for Energy: Starting at Volume 1 (2011) SPIE eBooks: A selection beginning 1989 * Some Proceedings volumes are not available in the SPIE Digital Library as SPIE does not have electronic rights to this material.