Finding ArchivesHistorical NewspapersFinding GrantsHumanities on the GoMuseum ToolsOral History
This is the "Databases" page of the "Public Humanities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Humanities  

Last Updated: May 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/content.php?pid=356245 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Resources Page for Public Humanities. Here you will find links to the most useful databases and web resources for your subject, as well as contact info for your librarian. Please don't hesitate to contact me with any questions you may have!

 

Abstracting and Indexing:

America: History and Life: 

1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index:

1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

 

Please also see the Resource Guides for your subject of interest, particularly those for American Studies and the History of Art and Architecture.

 

Christophori de Pauli Pharmacopoeia Camera Materialium ad Vivum Delineata. 1751.

 

Full Text

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) Digital Edition    

Ongoing; based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, this resource serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819): Shaw-Shoemaker, Digital Edition:                                                                                  

Ongoing, Shaw-Shoemaker covers every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States. Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, thoroughly chronicles the people, ideas and events behind the early political, social, cultural and geographic growth of the United States.

 

Newspapers

Alternative Press Index

1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.

APS Online

1740-1900; APS (American Periodical Series) Online contains over 1,100 periodicals including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch and ENW: A History

1980-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. ENW: A History covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers

Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Karen Bouchard
Contact Info
Office: Rockefeller Library A16.
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30-5:00.
Phone: (401)863-3218.
Send Email
 

Ask Karen

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip