LibGuides: Public Humanities: Museum Tools

Tools for Museum Professionals

This page collates a number of useful databases and practical tools that will enhance research into problems, issues and state-of-the-art techniques in Museum Studies.

American Alliance of Museums
Principal professional organization for American museums, including a searchable directory of member institutions as well as a professional Code of Ethics.

Getty Provenance Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art with references to original primary source material.
Consists of six databases of information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art, gathered from sales catalogues, archival records, and museum files. Supplies a wealth of data drawn from British, French, and Netherlandish art sales catalogues of the nineteenth century and documents supplied by major European archives. [This resource is publicly accessible.]

Archives & Museum Informatics
A Toronto-based commercial venture which provides training and related services to archives, museums and other cultural institutions, through seminars, workshops, conferences, publications and consultation. Their annual conferences "Museums and the Web" and "International Cultural Heritage Informatics Meetings" (ICHIM) are widely respected in the field. The site includes papers presented at past conferences.
Global Museum
A webzine of and for the museum world.
International Council of Museums
Principal international organization for museums and museum professionals, encompassing more than 21,000 museums worldwide. ICOM helps establish minimum standards for museum practice and performance through its Code of Ethnics for Museums. The site includes the ICOM publications catalog.
Musematic
A blog covering the latest trends in museum technology and informatics.
Museum Computer Network
A network for information professionals working in the museum/cultural institution context, MCN is devoted to the examination and exchange of ideas concerning digital media, intellectual property, metadata standards, collections management and web development.
Museum Studies Bibliographies
A Smithsonian Institution site that allows the user to search a database of bibliographic entries for articles, theses and conference presentations in the field.

MuseumsEtc Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current; MuseumsEtc shares innovation in museum practice worldwide, drawing on the international experience of hundreds of leading museums and galleries in such key areas as inclusion, interpretation, learning, management, new media, and visitor engagement. Includes over 60 titles in the field of Museum Studies.
Current; MuseumsEtc shares innovation in museum practice worldwide, drawing on the international experience of hundreds of leading museums and galleries in such key areas as inclusion, interpretation, learning, management, new media, and visitor engagement.

The digital platform is specifically designed for use in academic and professional contexts. Museum and gallery professionals, university staff, museum studies departments, and university libraries will find the Collection of 60+ titles delivers unprecedented ease-of-use and knowledge access.

National Trust for Historic Preservation
Leading advocacy group for the preservation of historic structures and places in the United States. The site includes links for funding opportunities for historic preservation, travel to historic places, news and information regarding advocacy efforts, and pertinent tools and other preservation materials.
NPS Museum Management Program
Established by the National Park Service to manage its own museum resources, the Museum Management Program has created a set of useful online tools for museum professionals, such as the Museum Handbook, as well as exhibits, publications, profiles of the national parks, and lesson plans which incorporate useful information about teaching with museum collections.
PACCIN: The Packing, Art Handling and Crating Information Network
A forum for the exchange of ideas on methods and techniques for transporting art and museum objects.

Exhibition at the Royal Academy

Pietro Martini after Johann Ramberg. Exhibition at the Royal Academy. 1787. Luna Collection.