Skip to main content

Education

Welcome to the Resource Guide for Education

Students working on Level A lounge, Rockefeller Library

Make an appointment or email your question to the Education Librarian

Librarians Listed by Subject

Chat with a Librarian

General Guide to Research

Archive and Manuscript Research

easyBorrow: Get books from other libraries delivered to you at Brown using our interlibrary loan service

Interlibrary Loan: Request journal articles and newspapers unavailable at Brown. The interlibrary loan office will track them down and you will received a PDF copy.

Library Discovery Tool: Cross-search physical and electronic collections at Brown from the search box on the library homepage. This includes books, ebooks, journal articles, and most other materials in the Brown Library.

Google Scholar: Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Use the Cited By link to find similar articles. Can be challenging to narrow searches. Look for the "FindIt@Brown" button for links to the articles.

What's What

Articles are part of Journals. Journals are found either by title or through Databases.  Databases are found by title or subject.

  • Library Subject Guides are a good place to start looking for information. Each of the over 80 guides lists resources that are the best for a given subject.
  • Databases A-Z list is good if you know the name of the database you want to use. 
  • eJournals A-Z list is good if you want to jump directly into a journal you want to use. Especially good if you have a citation and are trying to find a specific, known article.

What is a scholarly article?

A scholarly source is a publication, such as a journal, that includes articles which document and discuss the results of original research. The author is usually one or all of the researchers who did the research. Publishing in a scholarly journal is a method researchers use to communicate their research and share with other scholars in their field of study. The content usually includes a review of literature previously published on this topic, methodolody used in the study, and the findings. The audience for these articles is usually discipline specific, and as a result the language in articles is often technical and discipline-specific. Articles in scholarly publications have gone through an editorial review by a panel of experts to ensure that the article has met the requirements of a scholarly article.

What is a popular article?

A popular article appears in a magazine or newspaper that you may buy at the supermarket. The content in these publications often covers current events or summarizes research done by others. The content in these publications is often brief, written in simple language, and often includes pictures and advertisements. Authors are not always named, and sources are not always identified.