LibGuides: Consumer Health Resources: General Resources

General Consumer Health Resources

The following consumer health resources are freely-available and offer access to quality health information. A few of these resources contain health information in multiple languages and on a global level.

MedlinePlus
This freely available website, from the National Institutes of Health and National Library of Medicine, provides summaries of, and links to authoritative resource on, diseases, disorders, drugs and wellness.
KFF - Kaiser Family Foundation
Nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Nonpartisan source of data, analysis and journalism on health issues.
MLAP Doctor Finder tool
Use this tool to find doctors by state, specialty and language (57+). Only tool with physician-reviewed translations in 13+ languages.
MLAP Care Finder
Use this tool to find affordable care by state. Only tool to include all federally-listed Community Health Centers and free clinics.
WHO - World Health Organization
You may browse by country, access online publications and reports, and retrieve statistical information on various health issues around the globe.

Open Access Scholarly Literature

Get access to information similar to what is used by medical professionals and medical students. Find scholarly information, including textbooks and peer-reviewed journal articles, on your health concern/topic of interest by searching one of these databases.

PMC (PubMed Central)
"PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)."
WHO Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated, independent online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Open Textbook Library
Catalog of open textbooks maintained by the University of Minnesota. This is the most comprehensive listing of open textbooks, and each book has a faculty review system similar to Amazon