Provides access to primary sources from the early 19th to the early 21st centuries
Early 19th century to early 21st century; focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource-presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Provides access to slave narratives collected by the Works Projects Administration between 1936 and 1938, 2000 edition
2000 edition; a study of the WPA slave narratives. A massive historical collection, it includes complete records for each narrative identifying the narrator, his or her year of birth, and the county and state where the narrator was in bondage.
Provides access to primary source material, including government records and personal papers documenting the civil rights movement in the United States
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th-century fight for freedom. Major collections in these modules include Civil Rights records from the Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and George H. W. Bush presidencies; the Martin Luther King FBI File and FBI Files on locations of major civil rights demonstrations like Montgomery and Selma, Alabama or St. Augustine, Florida; and the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), National Association of Colored Womens Clubs (NACWC), Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).
The complete digitized archives of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), 1909-1972.
1909-1972; the NAACP Papers includes the subcollections Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, Major Campaigns,Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Branch files, Youth Departmental Files, Organizational Records and National Staff Files. It is internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues: lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, and housing, among others. It provides a comprehensive view of the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievements. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, users can examine the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.
A primary source collection that provides access to books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade, 17th century - late 19th century
Slavery and Anti-Slavery provides access to Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
A primary source collection documenting the far-reaching impact of plantations on the American South and the United States, 1775-1915
The Southern Plantation Records in the ProQuest History Vault document the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. Southern Plantation Records illuminate nearly every aspect of plantation life: business operations and day-to-day labor routines, family affairs, roles of women, racial attitudes, relations between masters and slaves, social and cultural life, shared values, and tensions and anxieties that were inseparable from a slave society.
As part of a comprehensive project to digitize American newspapers, this Library of Congress site now allows the user to sort titles by ethnicity. Currently, the project includes 44 African American newspapers from 15 states (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington) and the District of Columbia that range in date from 1870 to 1920. More titles will likely be added as the project continues to grow
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
Includes nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries
African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition.
Contains 1,462 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries, 1850-present
1850-present; Black Drama, Second Edition contains approximately 1,462 plays from the mid-1800s to the-present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Special Collections
A subject guide to university records and alumni papers documenting the history of African-Americans at Brown University.
Comprehensive collection and the Civil War that sheds light on key political issues in the lives of African Americans of that era, including colonization, voting rights, participation in the military and various forms of progress and discrimination.
