Explore BruKnow and the databases listed below to identify books, articles, and other secondary source materials related to Asian American topics in Ethnic Studies research.
Find Western-language books, journal articles and chapters of edited volumes for materials pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, including Asian communities around the world; 1971-present
1971-present; this online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Archive and art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia
Critical Collective is a digital archive and an art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia. The resource covers all time periods from the ancient world to the-present, and includes articles about art history, cinema, photography, and gender studies, as well as museum studies, artists' profiles and interviews, exhibitions, and more.
Provides access to 4.5 million pages of primary and secondary material spanning the Indian subcontinent, 1800-mid-20th century.
1800 - mid 20th century; South Asia Archive is as a specialist digital platform delivering global electronic access to culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within, and about, the Indian subcontinent. Subject specialist editors from India have selected and catalogued the documents specifically for this archive. The content originates mainly from the Bengal area of India, consisting of unique and rare documents from primary and secondary sources. A significant proportion of the collection is in English, but thirty percent of the documents are written in various vernacular languages of the period/region(s). Serial collections are (where possible) complete, consisting of all available editions/volumes. To simplify locating a collection, content has been broken down into a number of top-level document types such as maps, reports, and journals.
Access primary source material documenting cultural and trading relationships between America, China, and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.
This resource provides alphabetical lists of evacuees resident at Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946.
1944-1946; the rosters, which are part of the Records of the War Relocation Authority, consist of alphabetical lists of evacuees resident at the relocation centers during the period of their existence. The lists typically provide the following information about the individual evacuees: name, family number, sex, date of birth, marital status, citizenship status, alien registration number, method of original entry into center (from an assembly center, other institution, Hawaii, another relocation center, birth, or other), date of entry, pre-evacuation address, center address, type of final departure (indefinite leave, internment, repatriation, segregation, relocation, or death), date of departure, and final destination.
Collection of 25 newspaper titles documenting life in the Japanese-American internment camps during World War II
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
Papers of a Pembroke alumna who served as a war correspondent covering the 100th/442nd Regimental Combat Team, a Japanese American unit, in Europe during World War II.
Streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts
Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. With Asian voices addressing Asian issues, and through works selected by Asian film experts, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights. Its themes - such as modernity, globalization, national identity, female agency, inequalities in opportunity amid social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity - are central to any meaningful discussion of Asian culture.
Contains the full text of more than 250 plays by 42 Asian-American dramatists, including many works that are otherwise unpublished, along with production and thematic information.
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and it is planned to include contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
Refer to this list of subject headings from the Library of Congress for researching Asian-American and Pacific Islander material. Subject Headings can be searched in BruKnow, the Brown Library Catalog, and Worldcat.
