LibGuides: Ethnic Studies: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library Resource Guide for Ethnic Studies!

Use the links below to locate digital and print books, journal articles, and primary source/archival resources that broadly relate to the field of Ethnic Studies.
Use the menu along the left side to navigate to resources and research tools related to specific areas within Ethnic Studies.

You can also book an appointment for a one-on-one research consultation with the Ethnic Studies Librarian to get help with finding and accessing resources, planning your research, and working with archival materials.

Books (Digital + Print)

BruKnow This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BruKnow is the Library's platform for searching books, ebooks, databases, articles, multimedia, digital collections, and special collections, current
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover millions of books, journals, images and maps digitized from libraries around the world, current.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of book and ejournal titles digitized from libraries around the world. As members of HathiTrust, Brown users get PDF download access to nearly 3 million public domain or permissioned works that were a part of the Google Books digitization projects, or were contributed to the trust by other member institutions.

To login, click the LOGIN BUTTON and select Brown University from the list of institutions. If you have not already authenticated with your Brown username and password, you will then be asked to do so. While you can read articles without logging in, you will NOT be able to download articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.

WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of books and other materials in library catalogs around the world. Best used for advanced search of book records.

Journal Articles

The databases below are only a few suggestions. Explore A-Z Databases for the full list of databases accessible via the Brown University Library.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, 1954-present
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles from English-language periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984.
1907-1984; Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

Primary Sources Online

Explore A-Z Databases for more.

Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to early printed materials, teaching material, and other primary sources devoted to the history of exploration, 1420-1920
Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source materials of the study of Empire and its theories, practices and consequences.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brings together manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history, 1500-present.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections of the 19th century, covering the age of industrialization and technological innovation, political revolution, colonialism, nation building, educational reform, and other topics.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and the massive explosion of written material that dwarfs the output of the centuries that preceded it. Any undertaking that attempts to synthesize the vast array of nineteenth-century content may be at best only provisionally comprehensive.

Newspapers

American Prison Newspapers,1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspaperswill bring together hundreds of periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital newspaper archive offering more than 60 historical publications dating back to the 19th century.
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Use the list below to search each newspaper individually.
Brown University Library subscribes to:
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines
1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.