RUSS1530: Russian Orientalism in the Visual, Literary and Performing Arts, 1760-1940

Each year you can discover more than 100 events broadcast live from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Thtre des Champs-lyses, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele and more. You can also access the largest online collection of classical music videos
in the world, with 1,500 original programmes available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year.

Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

1880-2000; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is an archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

1945-present; RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text is an international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950--from Beethoven to Bartok, from Berlioz to Berg, and from Schubert to Shostakovich--all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors. RIPM currently indexes the contents of 120 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. In addition, RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.Search RILM and RIPM together.

These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Use the list below to search each newspaper individually.

1864-present; draws its content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Performing Arts covers nearly all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.

Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Biannual; the Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism contains over 1000 articles covering all aspects of the field, ranging from broad intellectual topics within modernism to specific works and practitioners. Geographical coverage is worldwide. The content is divided into eight subfields: literature, architecture, visual arts, music, dance, theatre, film, and intellectual currents.

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.