LibGuides: Newspapers, Broadcast News & Popular Magazines: Historical Newspapers: Global

Availability of Articles

Although many of these resources are described as "full text" it is possible that not all articles will be available, especially for very recent materials. If you are having trouble finding what you need, please contact Karen_Bouchard@Brown.edu or another subject librarian for assistance. If you have full citation information, you can also use your ILLiad account to request scans of articles that we don't have.

For additional help in searching newspapers, please also see the boxes called Tips for Searching Newspapers and Race and Ethnicity Keyword Thesaurus found on the Welcome page of this guide.

Worldwide

Underground Newspaper Collection
Filmed copies of almost 600 underground newspapers from around the world. Accompanied by guide entitled "Underground newspaper microfilm collection. Table of contents."
For list of newspapers by title, scroll down in BruKnow, below the search interface.

Africa

World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 60 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries, 1800-1922
1800-1922; more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Asia

China

Chinese Historical Newspapers (1832-1953) (text searchable)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

People's Daily - Renmin Ribao 人民日报 (1946 - Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
People's Daily is the official voice of the central government and the Communist Party of China. June 1946-present, updated daily.
People's Daily is the official voice of the central government and the Communist Party of China. Directly from the People's Daily Press, this database contains the complete run of the past daily issues covering from 1946 to today's issue. The license for institutional online access is authorized directly by the People's Daily Press. This new version is a continuing database and is being updated on a daily basis.
Ta Kung Pao (Da Gong Bao) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1902-1949; Based on Ta Kung Pao, a highly influential newspaper in modern China. Included are all pages of the editions published inTianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hankou, Hong Kong and Guilin, and advertisement pages can be searched. Currently, the database includes at least 2 million pieces of news and 200,000 high-resolution images.
NOTE: 01/07/1997 to Present in Access World News Research Collection
1902-1949; a full text database based on Ta Kung Pao Pao (Da Gong Bao).This newspaper was first published on June 17, 1902, in the French Concession in Tianjin. Throughout its history, this newspaper has editions in different cities, including Tianjin, Shanghai, Wuhan, Chongqing, Hong Kong and Guilin. In its prime, throughout its history, it was published in four different places in China. Currently, the database includes at least 2 million pieces of news and 200,000 high-resolution images. This database boasts a wide range of functions, including full text searching, cross-newspaper searching, and advanced searching.

Japan

Asahi Shinbun Cross Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1879-present; Provides access to over 13 million Japanese newspaper articles published by Asahi Shinbun. Full text searching is available post-1985. The database also includes: articles from two weekly magazines, AERA and Shakkan Asahi; Chiezo, a contemporary dictionary; the Who's Who Database; and the Historical Photo Archive, which contains approximately 10 thousand photographic records mostly taken in Asia during the World War II period.
Note: This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.
1879-present; Asahi Shinbun Cross Search provides access to over 16 million Japanese newspaper articles published by Asahi Shinbun. Full text searching is available post-1985. The database also includes: articles from two weekly magazines, AERA and Shukan Asahi; Chiezo, a contemporary dictionary; the Who's Who Database; and the Historical Photo Archive, which contains approximately 10 thousand photographic records mostly taken in Asia during the World War II period.

This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.
The Japan Times Archives (English-language newspaper) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage range: 1897 (Meiji 30) - 2023 (Reiwa 5).
NOTE: The University's license permits a max of 11 simultaneous users across a consortia of 20 Universities. Please remember to log off after each session.
Yomidas Rekishikan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 10 million Japanese newspaper articles published by Yomiuri Shinbun; 1874-present.
1874-present; Yomidas Rekishikan provides access to over 10 million Japanese newspaper articles published by Yomiuri Shinbun. Contents are in scanned image format from 1874 to 1989; full text from 1986 to-present. Searchable by keyword, subject category, and issue. The database also includes articles from the English edition, The Japan News (from 1989 to-present) as well as biographical information (Gendai jinmeiroku) on 26,000 contemporary persons who are linked to related news articles

Korea

Korean Newspaper Archive
From the National Library of Korea: "The archive provides online access to old Korean newspapers from 1883 to 1960s and it consists of over 7 million newspaper articles."

South Asia

Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1835 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to rare journals about eighteenth-century social, political and literary life, 1685-1835. Emphasis on British journals but also includes some Indian, Irish, Canadian, and Caribbean titles.
c.1685-1835; bringing together rare journals, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Historical Times of India
1838 - 2008. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
South Asia Open Archives: Native Newspaper Reports
A weekly compendium of (translated) abstracts from vernacular newspapers published throughout India. Covers 1874-1921.

World Newspaper Archive: South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 10 newspapers published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, 1864-1922
1864-1922; features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

Australia & Pacific

Australia Free Online Historical Newspapers
List of links to digitized newspapers from across Australia.
Niupepa: Maori Newspapers
Collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932.

Europe

Europeana: Newspapers
A multitude of digitized historical European newspapers.
Europe Free Online Historical Newspapers
List of links to newspapers across Europe, sorted by country.

British Isles & Ireland

British Library Newspapers, Parts 1-5 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1746-1950; British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers.
1746-1950; British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. The British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1835 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to rare journals about eighteenth-century social, political and literary life, 1685-1835. Emphasis on British journals but also includes some Indian, Irish, Canadian, and Caribbean titles.
c.1685-1835; bringing together rare journals, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2021 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1888-2010; the Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of this authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
1888-2021; the Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of this authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2016, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Founded to serve the immediate needs of the City of London, the Financial Times quickly broadened its coverage, recognising that global financial and economic issues were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century. Incorporating its rival the Financial News in 1945, the Financial Times expanded in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy and international politics in full for the first time. In the final decades of the twentieth century, coverage of management, personal finance and the arts was added.

Historical Guardian and The Observer
1791-2003. Covers the two important British newspapers.
Sunday Times Historical Archive
For much of the nineteenth century, The Sunday Times had similar preoccupations as much of the Victorian press, with extensive coverage of court cases, executions, and grisly crimes to titillate its readers. However, it also developed a reputation for its considerable arts coverage, especially the London theater and music scene.

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1795-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 200 years of the Times, 1795-2019.
1795-2019; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Irish Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Through the Irish Newspaper Archives gateway you will find the world's most complete Irish newspaper archive. Many of the newspapers are available from their first publication right through to the current day, 1738-present.

France

Gallica
Online full text resource of historical publications and images from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Periodicals dating back to the 18th century. Searches should be carried out in French.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the digital archive for the newspaper of record for French and world affairs; 1944-2000
First published after the Liberation of Paris in World War II, Le Monde is a newspaper of record for French and world affairs. This digital archive provides full-text searching and access to full-page images and article-level indexing. You can retrieve news articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries and cartoons.
RetroNews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
RetroNews, the press site of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, gives free access to nearly 600 press titles published between 1631 and 1950.

Spain

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: ABC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First published in Madrid in 1903, ABCis the oldest newspaper still operating in Madrid, the second largest newspaper in Spain, and one of three newspapers of record in Spain.
Politically, ABC is known for supporting the Spanish monarchy and for its conservative political views.  The newspaper uses extensive photography and was the first European newspaper to use photoengravings.

Russia & Eastern Europe

Izvestiia Digital Archive
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia (Известия, News) was founded in March 1917. During the Soviet era, Izvestiia became the mouthpiece of the Kremlin. Quality of images varies.
Post-Perestroika Newspapers Digital Archive
Traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage beginning in the mid 1980s and extending well into the twenty-first century.
Pravda Digital Archive
The official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991, and the most important newspaper of the Soviet era. Quality of images varies.
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Published continuously since 1949. Leading primary source in the field of Soviet/Russian area studies. Each week, it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English, covering a wide range of issues in the post-Soviet space and the international arena.

Turkey

Cumhuriyet Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Cumhuriyet (“The Republic”) is the oldest secular Turkish daily newspaper and is widely considered one of the last remaining opposition newspapers in Turkey.

Latin America & Caribbean

Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat)
Directory of digitized historical content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. Search by keyword, newspaper title or by city, county or state to locate titles. NewspaperCat currently links to over 1,500 full-text newspaper titles.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
Searchable full text newspapers from across the Caribbean. Freely available resource.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1835 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to rare journals about eighteenth-century social, political and literary life, 1685-1835. Emphasis on British journals but also includes some Indian, Irish, Canadian, and Caribbean titles.
c.1685-1835; bringing together rare journals, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Historical Free Caribbean Newspapers Online
List of links to digitized newspapers across the Caribbean, sorted by country.
Latin American Labor Movements Newspapers
Collection of digitized newspapers from UCLA.

World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 300 Latin American newspapers from more than 20 countries, 1805-1922
1805-1922; provides 280 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. The Library owns series 1 and series 2 of this resource.

Middle East

Baghdad Observer Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Official English-language newspaper of the Iraqi government. Covers 1967-1996.
Al-Ahram Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Al-Ahram, one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East.
Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypts most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million.