1976-2001; the Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. [This resource is publicly available.]
1864-present; draws its content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Performing Arts covers nearly all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.
1945-present; RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text is an international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950--from Beethoven to Bartok, from Berlioz to Berg, and from Schubert to Shostakovich--all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors. RIPM currently indexes the contents of 120 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. In addition, RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.Search RILM and RIPM together.
1850-present; when complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. [NOTE: Licensed resource, not available off-campus to non-Brown users]
Providence Black Repertory was founded in 1996 to offer theatre, education and other public programming inspired by the traditions of the African diaspora. It folded in 2009, at the height of a major recession.
A searchable list of video holdings on VHS and DVD in the collections of the Brown University Library. Videos may also be browsed by language. The collection includes both documentary and feature films.
Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.
One of the most popular illuminated Ethiopic texts. The John Hay Library has a 15th century edition of this text, along with an undated Gospel of John, which may be seen in the Special Collections Reading Room upon request.
Only 51 of UCLA's large collection of more than 300 Ethiopic Manuscripts are currently viewable online. Further information about the Ethiopic collections at UCLA may be found by searching the Online Archive of California (OAC) for "ethiopic."
This used to be a robust, fully digital version of a Smithsonian exhibit. Sadly, images of the works displayed have now been removed. But you can still read the exhibit narrative and download a complete list of the works displayed.
From June through October 1973 and briefly during the spring of 1974, John H. White, a 28-year-old photographer with the Chicago Daily News, worked for the federal government photographing Chicago, especially the city`s African American community. White took his photographs for an EPA project but saw his work as a way "to capture a slice of life."