An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
Newspapers edited by Frederick Douglass (1818-1895), the African American abolitionist who escaped slavery and became one of the most famous orators, authors, and journalists of the 19th century.
Archival periodicals documenting the history of African American religious life and culture, 1829-1922
1829-1922; the African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations including churches and social service agencies.
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. It includes the National Era, and may include other African American titles
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
As part of a comprehensive project to digitize American newspapers, this Library of Congress site now allows the user to sort titles by ethnicity. Currently, the project includes 44 African American newspapers from 15 states (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington) and the District of Columbia that range in date from 1870 to 1920. More titles will likely be added as the project continues to grow
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Click on the newspaper's title below to search each newspaper. To search more than one newspaper at the same time, click on one of your titles, then use the link for "News and Newspapers" to open the selection box and uncheck the boxes for any newspapers that you do not wish to search.
Brown currently subscribes to five titles in the Black Newspaper series:
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Use the list below to search each newspaper individually.
Includes the Black-owned newspapers North Star and Frederick Douglass' Paper, covering the years 1847-1855, along with The Liberator and other Abolitiionist newspapers that reported news about African Americans.
Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
Includes full-text of 170 newspapers, including The Colored American (1837-1841) and other titles published by and for the African American Community.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery provides access to Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
