1940-2014; with material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940-present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracking LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
A collection of British primary source material for research and teaching, 1450-1910.
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
This collection of primary resources from Cuba is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between independence and the end of the Batista regime, 1898-1958.
1898-1958; this collection is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime. In the decades following its independence from Spain in 1898, Cuba adopted the most progressive legislation for women in the western hemisphere. The documents in this collection, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.
A research for the study of women's history, spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
This collection is considered to be the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages. The broad scope of Gerritsen Online allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. Gerritsen Online consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.
Search indexing and abstracts for hundreds of scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers, 1945-present.
1945-present; LGBT Life is a resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. LGBT Life also indexes & abstracts the full run of many historically significant titles such as ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, Christopher Street and Body Politic. In addition, grey literature including non-fiction titles, bibliographies, case studies, and dissertations is also represented. Disciplines covered by LGBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
This link opens in a new window
