Bibliographic information for materials pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, 1971-present
1971-present; this online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
All British Foreign Office files dealing with India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980.
This collection of files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 consists of the complete run of documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.
Provides access to 4.5 million pages of primary and secondary material spanning the Indian subcontinent, 1800-mid-20th century.
1800 - mid 20th century; South Asia Archive is as a specialist digital platform delivering global electronic access to culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within, and about, the Indian subcontinent. Subject specialist editors from India have selected and catalogued the documents specifically for this archive. The content originates mainly from the Bengal area of India, consisting of unique and rare documents from primary and secondary sources. A significant proportion of the collection is in English, but thirty percent of the documents are written in various vernacular languages of the period/region(s). Serial collections are (where possible) complete, consisting of all available editions/volumes. To simplify locating a collection, content has been broken down into a number of top-level document types such as maps, reports, and journals.
Drawing upon the manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland, the collection covers the history of South Asia between the founding of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
This collection draws upon the unique manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland. It provides a fully searchable online resource for studying the relationship between Britain and the British Empire in India in which the Scots played a unique and central role as traders, generals, missionaries, Viceroys, Governor-Generals and East India Company officials.
This collection weaves the story of India and Empire through the writings of Governor-Generals, Commander-in-Chiefs, Indian Princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters. It is composed of original manuscript material, comprising diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.
Especially strong for the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries this collection will be of particular interest to historians studying:
The British Indian Empire; government, administration and politics. The relationship between Britain and the British Indian Empire. The relationship between the British Indian Empire and Indian Princely States. The Mysore and Maratha wars and other conflicts. The role of the Scots in India. The Indian Uprising. Trade and Agriculture.
This collection is an addition to the new-flourishing literature on the military history of South Asia and the growing field of serious study of the British military experience in India.
This link opens in a new window
