LibGuides: EDUC 1680: Histories of Race and Education in the United States: Image Resources

General Resources (A Little Bit of Everything)

JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Tips for Using JSTOR Images
Document created by librarian Karen Bouchard with tips for finding and working with images in JSTOR Images.

Luna Insight
Web browser LUNA allows viewing and exporting of images, including the contents of the Brown University Instructional Image Collection. LUNA also provides free access to the Luna Commons, image resources contributed by other institutional users of this software.

Web browser LUNA allows viewing and exporting of images, including the contents of the Brown University Instructional Image Collection. LUNA also provides free access to the Luna Commons, image resources contributed by other institutional users of this software.

Tips for Using Luna Insight
Document created by librarian Karen Bouchard with tips for finding and working with images in Luna Insight.

Google Images Advanced Search
Use the advanced search to select size of images and usage rights (Creative Commons).
Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Image Sources
A site of image sources on the web, compiled by librarian Karen Bouchard. Please see the subpages menu with separate pages for Art and for Science images.

William James Bennett. New Orleans. Engraving, 1841. Luna Collection.

NINES
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. (Includes all types of literature, documents, and images)

Oxford Art Online
Oxford's art reference works, prehistory to the-present.

Prehistory to the-present; Oxford Art Online provides web access to the entire text of Grove Art and The Dictionary of Art along with several other art resources such as The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Brown University Collections Online

Adobe Stock Photos
All Brown employees have access to Adobe’s standard stock imagery library. Simply sign with your full Brown email address and choose “Company or School Account,” then login with your Brown ID.
Americana: JCB Collections
"Americana is a platform for users to access, read and annotate items from the JCB, to bring together clusters of items, and to create collaborative projects."
Brown Image Gallery
Collection of images of Brown University preserved for publication and communication purposes. Images are owned by Brown and are free for Brown use. Login required.
Brown University Library Collections in the Brown Digital Repository
Includes collections in a wide variety of subject areas, many of which are visually oriented.
Brown University School of Engineering Flickr Gallery
Highlights from the School of Engineering image collection. May be downloaded.
Collections at Bell Gallery
Brown University art gallery with heavy focus on 20th and 21st century art. Images are likely to be under copyright.
Exhibits at the Brown Library
Online collection or current and past exhibitions with much visual material.
Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology Digital Collection
Search the Museum’s permanent collection for specific object types, culture/people, geographic region, and artist/maker. The Online Catalogue does not include the Museum's entire collection but is continually growing.
The JIAAW Collection
Catalog of the Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World. This collection includes approximately 10,000 ancient coins and more than 2,000 other objects, ranging in date from the Neolithic to the modern day, and generally Mediterranean in origin.
Public Art at Brown
Site gives information about works of art on the Brown campus, including an interactive map.
Works of Art Collected by Rush Christopher Hawkins for the Annmary Brown Memorial
Collection of 158 European and American paintings of the 16th through 19th centuries.

Ancient Art & Archaelogy

Ara Pacis, south side, Imperial Family. Rome, 13-9 BCE. Photo by Brooke Hammerle. Luna Collection.

Archaeology Images Online
Page from Karen's subject guide on Archaeology, highlighting good web sources for archaeological and ancient art images.
Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology Digital Collection
Search the Museum’s permanent collection for specific object types, culture/people, geographic region, and artist/maker. The Online Catalogue does not include the Museum's entire collection but is continually growing.
The JIAAW Collection
Catalog of the Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World. This collection includes approximately 10,000 ancient coins and more than 2,000 other objects, ranging in date from the Neolithic to the modern day, and generally Mediterranean in origin.

Architecture, City Planning & Maps

Seaside. 2004. Planners Robert Davis, Andres Duany, and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

Note: Additional maps may be searched within the library's discovery tool. Digitized versions of Brown archival material have been uploaded to the website. Original historical maps may be found in the John Hay Library's collections. Twentieth century maps may be found on the 11th floor of the Sciences Library.

Archnet
An online community for architects and scholars with a special focus on the Islamic world, based at MIT, features a virtual library of digitized books, journals, reference tools, as well as thousands of images of architecture in the Islamic world.
Brown FACADES
Brown FACADES is an interactive guide to the architectural history of the Brown University Campus, in Providence, Rhode Island, USA. Developed by Professor Dietrich Neumann and his students.
Digital Map Collections
Links to current and historical maps from Brown GIS and Data Librarian, Frank Donnelly.

Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 for Rhode Island
Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provide digital access to large-scale maps of Rhode Island. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. (Note: Because the key is a detailed file, it must be large so that you can view it completed. As a result, it may take a while for the key to load onto your computer screen.)

Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provide digital access to large-scale maps of Rhode Island. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. These maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. A key is provided by the Sanborn Map Company. (Note: Because the key is a detailed file, it must be large so that you can view it completed. As a result, it may take a while for the key to load onto your computer screen.)

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps at the Library of Congress
Searchable database of over 18,000 items. Downloadable as tiffs and zoomable on screen.
Technology: Material Culture in the Built Environment
Images collected and taken by Professor Pat Malone over the years. Part of the Brown Digital Repository.

Global Art & Architecture

Ksar of Ait-Ben-Haddou, Morocco. Photo by Dietrich Neumann. Luna Collection.

African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes
Provides access to high-quality visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites

The African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes Collection links high-quality visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The Collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveller's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.

Archnet
An online community for architects and scholars with a special focus on the Islamic world, based at MIT, features a virtual library of digitized books, journals, reference tools, as well as thousands of images of architecture in the Islamic world.
Middle Eastern Arts & Culture Web Resources
A page from Brown Librarian Maan Al Sahoui's subject guide to Middle Eastern Studies.
South Asian Arts & Culture Web Resources
A page from Brown Librarian Maan Al Sahoui's subject guide to South Asia.

Fashion, Costume & Theater Design

Anonymous French Engraver. A Dance. ca. 1828. Luna Collection.

Godey's Lady's Book: Important 19th century fashion magazine with historical illustrations. To find images, use the Advanced Search screen and limit to illustrations. The various incarnations of this magazine are accessible online through the American Periodicals Series. Note: many of the original print magazines are available in the John Hay Library collections.

Vogue Archive
1892-present; the Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

1892-present; the Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society. In addition to the editorial content, all covers, advertisements and pictorial features have been captured as separate documents to allow for searching and discovery. For advertisements, the featured company and brand names have been assigned to the document records, and all image captions are captured to a high accuracy. Contributor names that appear in image credits, such as photographers, stylists and illustrators, are also indexed. You can also limit your search by journal editor.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Provides access to historical issues of one of the fashion industry's most influential publications, 1910-present.

1910-present; the Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.

Harper's Bazaar Archive
Available for searching in the RISD Library: A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing.
Pembroke College Clothing 1900-1970
The Pembroke College Clothing collection includes dresses, tops, skirts, and jumpsuits, likely produced by Pembroke College students for sewing lessons or theatrical productions. The clothing was made approximately between the 1920s through 1970 though these dates are only estimated based on garment style.
Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web: Costume, Fashion & Textiles
Selected list of web resources compiled by Brown Librarian Karen Bouchard.
Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web: Set / Theater Design
List of web resources collected by Brown librarian Karen Bouchard.

Historical Materials: Newspapers, Advertisements, Illustrations, Material & Popular Culture

Unknown artist.Brown University. Engraving, 1835.Brown Digital Repository.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Focuses on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Covers many different areas of 19th century history, including Photography.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online is focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and the massive explosion of written material that dwarfs the output of the centuries that preceded it. Any undertaking that attempts to synthesize the vast array of nineteenth-century content may be at best only provisionally comprehensive.

Newspaper Resource Guide
Many of our newspaper databases, particularly historical ones, will include photographs and illustrations.
Resources in Art & Architecture on the Web: Advertising
Freely available websites as compiled by Librarian Karen Bouchard.

Medieval Art

Anonymous French. Plaque with Censing Angels. Enamel, ca.1170-1180. Metropolitan Museum of Art via Creative Commons license.

Index of Medieval Art (formerly the Index of Christian Art)
ICA is the largest database of medieval art, documenting nearly 80,000 works of art dating from the 1st century CE to 1550, without geographic limitation.ICA is the largest database of medieval art, documenting nearly 80,000 works of art dating from the 1st century CE to 1550, without geographic limitation.

The Index of Medieval Art is the largest database of medieval art, documenting nearly 80,000 works of art dating from the 1st century CE to 1550, without geographic limitation. It is based on the analog archive at Princeton University. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and stained glass. The subject matter of each work is classified under one or more of 28,000 subject terms, and a full-text description accompanies each work. The online database-presently contains more than 100,000 images and nearly 50,000 bibliographic records covering iconography, art history, archaeology, religion, and classical studies.

Music Iconography

Unknown Artist. Dancer and Musicians. Earthenware, Han Dynasty, 1st century B.C.–1st century CE. Metropolitan Museum of Art via Creative Commons license.

RIdIM (Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale)
Publicly available database of music iconography. Contains descriptions of music and dance-related topics or content with links to online images of artworks.

Photography

S.O. Dodge. Uncle Ben, 100 Years Old, and his Seventh Wife, Knoxville, Tennessee. Albumen, 1893. Luna Insight Collection.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Primary source material from many different areas of 19th century history, including a number of photography collections.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online is focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and the massive explosion of written material that dwarfs the output of the centuries that preceded it. Any undertaking that attempts to synthesize the vast array of nineteenth-century content may be at best only provisionally comprehensive.

Special Collections

Note that the collections below do not necessarily contain all art related material in the Hay. Please consult your librarian or a curator for more information.

Fields of Hay: Concentrators' Guide to Special Collections at Brown
Fields of Hay is the undergraduate student field guide to the John Hay Library organized by concentrations.
John Hay Library Request System
Researchers are required to create an account in order to make requests to view materials in the John Hay Library Special Collections Reading Room or to request digital images. All requests for special collections materials are made through Aeon, Brown University Library Special Collections Request System.
John Hay Library Strategic Collecting Directions
Current collecting directions for materials in the John Hay.
Art and Architecture Collections
Includes Annmary Brown Memorial, Audubon's Birds of America, Gorham Silver, Wheaton Holden Collection, and much more. This page contains descriptions of each collection.
Artists Books
The Hay has a very impressive collection of artists books, mainly focused on American poetry and art, and part of the Harris Collection. They may be found by doing a subject search in BruKnow on Artists' books and limiting to the Hay.
Book Arts Collection
Includes Burning Deck archive, Damon Collection on William Blake, Children's Books, Posters, Broadsides, and much more. This page contains descriptions of each collection.
Exhibits at the Brown Library
Online collection or current and past exhibitions with much visual material.
Fine and Decorative Arts Collections
Includes Quilting Collection, Lincoln Collection, and Posters. This page contains descriptions of each collection.
Graphic Arts Collections
Includes Anne S. K. Brown Military Collection, Broadsides, Napoleonic Caricatures, Illustrated Books, and much more. This page contains descriptions of each collection.
Pembroke College Clothing 1900-1970
The Pembroke College Clothing collection includes dresses, tops, skirts, and jumpsuits, likely produced by Pembroke College students for sewing lessons or theatrical productions. The clothing was made approximately between the 1920s through 1970 though these dates are only estimated based on garment style.
Stow Wengenroth Materials at Brown Library
Collection of works by 20th century American lithographer Stow Wegenroth.
University Archives and Manuscripts
The John Hay Library has many original and printed works of art. Please see this guide for an excellent overview of and introduction to the collections.