Skip to Main Content

Endnote

This guide offers instruction and information about the latest version of this popular citation manager available to the Brown community.

Organize & Share Your References

View and Sort

By default, all of your references are listed together in a central collection called "My Library." You can use this area to organize and browse through your references. 

Sort references by clicking on the column names (e.g., Author, Year, Added to Library).

You can toggle the sort order by clicking the same heading again to make it sort in reverse. You can also select additional fields to display by right clicking on any column heading. This can be useful if you are using a particular field for notes or to mark references read/unread.

Edit references by double clicking on the reference, then make changes in the resulting window tab. 

Create Groups

Organize your citations into categories by creating custom groups (folders). EndNote comes with three permanent groups that cannot be renamed or deleted. These are: All References, Unfiled, and Trash.

There are also temporary groups that are created by EndNote as needed such as Recently Added, Copied References, Duplicate References, etc.

To create a group, click "Groups" from the top toolbar, then click "Create Group." undefined

You can also right click (Windows) or CTRL-click (Mac) in the groups area on the left side panel, then click "Create Group."

A Smart Group allows you to set criteria (such as author) to automatically pull matching references into a dynamic group:

undefined

A group set allows you to create a group of groups. This could be useful, for instance, to organize projects and papers under particular classes. 

You will see all of your groups listed to the left. You can add references to each group by dragging and dropping. A reference can belong to several group; this will not create a duplicate.

Find Full Text

EndNote can be used to find full text, whether it's held by Brown subscription or is freely available. For best results off-campus, connect to Brown's VPN (instructions for this are here). You can also make some custom configurations in your EndNote preferences to increase the likelihood of successfully connecting to full text. Click EndNote - Settings (for Mac), or Edit - Settings (for PC) to open your preferences. Click the Find Full Text section. Make sure all of the boxes in this section are checked. 

Under the OpenURL path, paste in this URL:

https://brown.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/Alma_01BU_INST/openurl?

Under the Authenticate with: field, paste in this URL:

https://login.revproxy.brown.edu/login?url=

Select one or several references to search for full text. Then click on the Find Full Text icon in the top toolbar. This will look like a page icon with a magnifying glass on top:

You may be prompted to log in with your Brown ID and password. The results of Find Full Text will be displayed in the left panel. Any resulting PDFs that were retrieved will be automatically attached to their corresponding reference.

undefined

Remove Duplicates

It's possible to deduplicate your EndNote library on a reference by reference basis, or all at once.

To deduplicate individual references:

  1. Select all of the references in your library by clicking CTRL-A.
  2. From the top toolbar under Library, click "Find Duplicates"

  1. From the resulting pop-up, review each record to decide which to keep and which to discard. Any differences will be highlighted.

To deduplicate all records at once:

  1. Follow the steps as described above, but instead of reviewing each record, click "Cancel."

  1. This brings you to a temporary holding area where all one reference for each pair is highlighted:

  1. To remove all copies, simply drag and drop them into the trash.

Share Your Library

You can share either your entire library or a specific group with other people.

To share your entire library, click File - Share. From the resulting pop up, enter the email address of the person you'd like to add.

In the resulting prompt, enter the email addresses of people you would like to add to your library, then click "Invite." This will automatically send them an email with instructions for setting up an EndNote online account, if they don't already have one, and instructions for accessing your library via the EndNote desktop.

To see libraries others have shared with you, click File → Open Shared Library, then select the email address of the library owner. 

To share a specific group, open the group in your library, then click the person icon: