LibGuides: CCP: Healthcare Leadership: Market & Community Evidence

Prompting Questions

What solutions exist in the market or internal to your organization?
What existing interventions are available? What are the strengths and weaknesses? What gaps are there?
What are stakeholder attitudes towards the problem/solution?

The sources you consult for this evidence will depend on your topic. Here is an example of how you might research a CCP related to the Pharmaceutical Industry.

Sources for Market & Community Evidence

What solutions exist in the market? What companies or organizations are working on this?

Sources for Company Information:

Web Searches (Google, Duck Duck Go, etc) to identify consumer products, drugs, software, and/or companies advertising a solution
Research Databases produce reports on specific companies or industries that include market research (e.g. financial information, market segmentation, SWOT analysis, competitive environment, etc.)
Public filings like SEC Filings (annual reports like the 10-k), FDA applications, Patents

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to industry research reports U.S. and select international markets, current.
Current; IBISWorld provides access to two collections of research reports for business and marketing information. Industry Market Research Reports (typically 30-40 page reports) are available for 700 US industries; reports include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and industry outlook. US Specialized Industry Reports are market research reports for small or new industries. New reports are added every week.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Search for articles, reports, and news covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics, 1886-present.
1886-present; Business Source Complete is a database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
ProQuest Business Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles, trade publications, market research reports, as well as major news publications for business, marketing and entrepreneurship research and practice
Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.
PatentScout This link opens in a new window
A private search tool that helps you discover relevant patents, organizations and technologies
Find highly relevant patents quickly and accurately. PatentScout is an easy to use and private search tool that helps you discover relevant patents, organizations and technologies using semantic search or advanced keyword syntax. University-wide access to this resource is provided by the office of Industry Engagement and Commercial Venturing and requires email registration.

Database: Pitchbook
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated May 2, 2023 714 views this year
Database: CB Insights
by Emily Ferrier Last Updated Nov 7, 2023 58 views this year

What existing interventions are available? What are the strengths and weaknesses? What gaps are there?

There are many sources for researching potential interventions - research publications, patents, products, trade publications, news - and as you develop your list, you will want to document strengths and weaknesses of the solutions and perform a gap analysis.

How to identify relevant trade publications or journals for your topic:

Search by keyword (e.g. "drug pipeline") in Business Source Complete, Proquest Business, or Nexis Uni
Click "sources" to expand the list of publications and see titles

Use BruKnow (the library catalog) to search all subscriptions:

Browse all Journals by Subject
Use the "Journals by category" menu to look for journals by topic - for example: Management or Health & Biological Sciences -- Pharmaceuticals
CB Insights: Future of Health 2019
CB Insights analysts produce market research intelligence and trend reports - some of which are freely available on their website. In 2019 they produced a series on the "Future of Health."

What are stakeholder attitudes towards the problem/solution?

Brainstorm your list of stakeholders - where can you find statistics, data, or first-person accounts of their opinion? Aggregated consumer data is available through the library from sources like the American Hospital Association, Government Sources and subscription services like Statista and PolicyMap.

You may also want to look for published research that use consumer or patient interviews and surveys, browse online forums, and search conference proceedings or published research from professional associations.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, data, market research, and industry reports on a variety of topics.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A data and web mapping application that provides access to thousands of indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education, current.
Current; Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others.Tutorials.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.