Skip to main content

eBook collections available at the Brown University Library

Brown University Libraries have an extensive collection of ebooks in a variety of disciplines. This guide will assist you in searching for, accessing, and downloading digital content.

About our collection

The Brown University Library has access to more than 1.5 million electronic books across virtually all academic subjects. Most of our ebooks are cataloged and findable in Josiah or Classic Josiah.

Our collection includes access to popular resources such as ProQuest ebook central, Safari Books OnlineHathiTrustEarly English Books Online, Springer Lecture Notes, Knovel Library and more!

Why should you choose ebooks over traditional print items? Some advantages include:

  • Multi-user ebooks which ease in assigning classroom readings due to unlimited user access to the item. Items are always available for on-campus and off-campus use
  • Ebooks allow you to adjust the font-size of the text
  • The read-aloud function turns an ebook into an audio book
  • Nothing to return or fall overdue, items expire once your loan ends or when you no longer access the item
  • Convenience of reading titles on your mobile device or ereader

Search for ebooks

Search our collection

Type in the title you are looking for in the JOSIAH search box on the library's homepage or in Classic JOSIAH. Search for ebooks just as you would a print title. After entering your search terms, on the next page, choose "Online" from the Access menu (image below) to limit your results to only ebooks.

When performing a search in our catalog, print books and electronic books will display differently in your search results. In the image below, the first result is for an electronic copy of the item. The second result is for a physical copy.

 If you're using Classic JOSIAH, electronic titles will display with [electronic resource] to the right of the title:

Off-Campus Access

Most of Brown's electronic resources are accessible from off campus. More information is available on our main website.

To access most resources from off-campus: start at the library website then navigate to the resource you need. You'll be presented with the Brown University login that will allow you access.  If you do not have access, try downloading and using the VPN. Please note that you may need to clear your cache after downloading the VPN to have it work.

Need help?

Need assistance with using our ebook collection? We're here to help!

For assistance with downloading ebooks, please contact the circulation department at 401-863-2165 \or rock@brown.edu or eresources@brown.edu.

Experiencing a problem accessing an ejournal, ebook, or database? Please fill out this online form to report this to our eresources librarian.

If you are having a problem logging into the Brown network or off-campus access service, please contact the CIS Help Desk: help@brown.edu or 863-HELP (863-4357)