LibGuides: Slavic Studies: Ukrainian Studies

Welcome to Ukrainian Studies!

Welcome! Ласкаво просимо! This section of the LibGuide is for students seeking more information on the Ukrainian language, Ukrainian studies, and research in Ukrainian libraries/archives.

Even during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, you can use these resources to stay connected to Ukraine and the Ukrainian world.

Research Resources

Libraries and Archives

Archives of Historical and Ethnographic Yiddish Memories
This oral history project consists of video interviews with Yiddish-speaking Holocaust survivors in Hungary, Moldova, Romania, Slovakia, and Ukraine, with emphasis on prewar Jewish life and culture in those areas.
Center for Urban History
Research portal for the Lviv-based Center for Urban History. The Center’s research focuses on themes connected with the history and historical experiences in the cities in Eastern and Central Europe.
Central Archive of Ukraine
Archival collection predominantly featuring political records (from the Ukrainian Communist Party, Ukrainian Jewish political organizations, and many other political parties. Interface in English, Ukrainian, and Russian, archival material mostly in Russian.
Central Cinema/Photographic Archive
Archive of photographic and cinematic material. In Ukrainian.
Central State Archive of Ukraine
Archive of Ukrainian governmental documents. Portal in English and Ukrainian.
Central State Electronic Archive
Digital archive containing some historical and political records. Interface in Ukrainian, Russian, and English.
Central State Historical Archive
Archive of historical documents in Ukraine. In Ukrainian.
Soviet Archives at the Hoover Institute
Archival and library collections pertaining to the Soviet Union, including many collections with Ukrainian material.
State Archive of Ukraine
Virtual portal of the system of state archives of Ukraine. Interface in English and Ukrainian.
State Libraries of Ukraine
Helpful list of all state libraries of Ukraine. Published by Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv.
Ukrainian Archive Guide
Helpful research guide to the various state archives of Ukraine. Published by the University of Illinois.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Collections
Digital collections of the USHMM. Many sources pertain to Ukrainian history and experience of WW2 and the Holocaust.

Institutions and Organizations

Association for Women in Slavic Studies
Association of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
Primary professional organization for the study of Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia. Organizes annual conference and offers generous research and study funding.
Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies
H-Ukraine
H-Net community focusing on the study of Ukraine.
Museum of the History of Ukraine in the Second World War
National Art Museum of Ukraine
National Chornobyl Museum of Kyiv
National Museum of the Holodomor Genocide
Ukrainian Research Institute at Harvard

Ukrainian Language

Ukrainian-English/ English-Ukrainian Dictionaries

Slovnenya
Dictionary
Glosbe
English-Ukrainian Dictionary

Pronunciation, Grammar, and Conversation

3Ears
Program that allows language learning through interactive stories and videos. Available in Russian, Czech, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Ukrainian.
TypeIt Ukrainian
Webpage that turns Latin alphabet into Cyrillic as you type
Easy Language: Ukrainian
Helpful YouTube series of basic Ukrainian conversations
WikiBooks Ukrainian
Comprehensive Wiki resource on the history, grammar, and structure of the Ukrainian language.
Learn Ukrainian
Many useful resources (including podcasts, games, etc.) from the Ukrainian Institute of America

Ukrainian News Resources

Kyiv Post
Major English-language newspaper.
Interfax Ukraine
Political and economic news source. Available in Ukrainian, Russian, and English.
Ukrainian Independent News Agency
Ukrainian news agency with articles in English, Russian, and Ukrainian.
RFE/RL Ukrainian Service
Ukrainian updates from Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (partially funded by the US Government). In English.
The Ukrainian Week
International edition (English-language) of popular illustrated Ukrainian weekly magazine.