Public Affairs (MPA)

Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.

1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.

1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

Current; Latin American Newsstream includes eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin American countries give added coverage and perspective. To round out the coverage, Latin American Newsstream also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.

1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives

Dates vary; US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinin (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). All of the content in ProQuest US Hispanic Newsstream is available on the ProQuest platform and is cross-searchable with other ProQuest databases.

These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Use the list below to search each newspaper individually.

Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included.

1690-1900; this expanding digital collection of early American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind. Currently featuring more than 2,000 titles from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of daily life in hundreds of diverse American communities. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, election returns, matrimony and death notices, maps, cartoons, illustrations and more, these historical newspapers offer researchers essential local and national perspectives on American history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Advanced capabilities allow users to search or browse by date or era, by language, by place of publication or individual title. Users can easily view, magnify, print and save digital images of whole issues, pages and individual articles.

1808-1980; created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English

1795-2019; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

1800-1922; more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

1805-1922; provides 280 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. The Library owns series 1 and series 2 of this resource.

1864-1922; features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

1984-present; incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. Full text is available from 1993-present.

Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.

1886-present; Business Source Complete is a database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.