LibGuides: Public Affairs (MPA): Finding Articles

Scholar

Annual Review of Political Science

Annual Reviews publishes yearly review articles on topics of interest in a variety of subject areas. We have access to Annual Review of Political Science:

2006 to Present in

Annual Reviews

1998 to 5 years ago in

Annual Reviews Back Volumes

Note that you can search through all subject areas covered in Annual Review by clicking from "This Journal" to "Journals" under the search box.

Social Sciences Databases

International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles in political science, including public law, and international relations, 1989-present.
1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and reports for U.S. public policy research, 1900-present.
1900-present; Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research in that it grants users access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centres, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy. The majority of Policy File Index records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, 1914-present.
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Locate working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos relevant for research in international politics and related fields, 1991-present.
1991-present; designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.

CQ (formerly CQ Weekly) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A preeminent resource for Congress-watchers who need nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill, 1983-present
1983-present; pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need non-partisan information on Capitol Hill. Please use the VPN to access this eresource from off-campus.
CQ Almanac Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual reference for studying the U.S. Congress, 1945-present
1945-present; annual reference for studying the U.S. Congress, the Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth reports on a single theme or issue from the news each week, 1923-present
1923-present; explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from the environment, health, education and science, technology and social issues.

Management, business, & industry databases

ProQuest Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles, trade publications, market research reports, as well as major news publications for business, marketing and entrepreneurship research and practice
Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles, reports, and news covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics, 1886-present.
1886-present; Business Source Complete is a database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces, 1984-present
1984-present; incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. Full text is available from 1993-present.
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 4,200 business cases from more than 100 countries, current.
Current; SAGE Business Cases provides access to 1,700 business cases in national and international business. An excellent source for discovering best practices and learning from unsuccessful ventures. Written in both short vignettes to long narrative form, and written using field research and publicly available sources, business case topics include marketing, operations management, small business & entrepreneurship, international business, human resource management, and more.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to industry research reports U.S. and select international markets, current.
Current; IBISWorld provides access to two collections of research reports for business and marketing information. Industry Market Research Reports (typically 30-40 page reports) are available for 700 US industries; reports include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and industry outlook. US Specialized Industry Reports are market research reports for small or new industries. New reports are added every week.
Orbis by Bureau van Dijk This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on corporate structures, credit default swaps, credit and supplier risk, compliance and financial crime, transfer pricing analysis, financial ratios.
Use Orbis to find, analyze and compare more than 310 million companies across the globe. Discover information on corporate structures, credit default swaps, credit and supplier risk, compliance and financial crime, transfer pricing analysis, financial ratios, and more. Excellent resource for business development, M&A, peer bench-marking, and competitive intelligence research.

Turn on VPN to use this resource.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 40,000 books on software, programming, and business
Current; access to the most current knowledge, trends, conversations, and real-world experiences in business and technology. OReilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments on exclusive O'Reilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to private equity and venture capital investment history with in-depth information, data, and statistics on companies, deals, funds, service providers, and investors, current.

First time users must register for an account.
Current; private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information, data and statistics on companies, deals, funds, service providers and investors.

Dissertations & theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A global collection of dissertations and theses, 1637-present.
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Global includes more than 2.5 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 (with a few older) to the-present day together with over one million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Global provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
Dissertations of China This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text, abstracts, and/or descriptive information of master's theses, dissertations, and post-doctoral dissertations from key Chinese research institutions across disciplines, 1986-present
1986-present; this database holds fulltext or abstracts and other descriptive information of Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations from key Chinese research institutions. Covers all disciplines.
Brown Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Search or deposit Brown dissertations and theses.
The Brown University Theses and Dissertations database includes over 15,000 records for dissertations written and submitted in fulfillment of Brown University degree requirements from 1893 to 2000. Included are undergraduate honors theses, master's theses, and doctoral dissertations. Records include the author's name, thesis title, degree awarded, year, granting department, and when available, thesis advisor. [This resource is publicly available.]

General Social Science databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and other publications for all major social science disciplines, 1900-present.
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Brown Archival & Manuscript Collections Online (BAMCO) This link opens in a new window
Search the manuscripts and archives of Brown University.
The manuscripts and archives of Brown University are a rich and diverse resource for students, faculty, and other researchers from a variety of disciplines. The collections are particularly strong in the following areas: American literature (especially poetry and drama), American political and diplomatic history, Rhode Island history, women's studies, history of education, and history of science. The collections are not limited to these areas, however, and new uses and interpretations of the materials are continually being discovered. The BAMCO site does not encompass all of the holdings of the Brown University Library. Interested researchers should consult the Collections A-Z page for further information on our holdings and for contact information. [This resource is publicly available.]
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Provides information on transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.