LibGuides: Language Studies: Find books and articles

Start Here

BruKnow - Brown Library Search
Start your search with BruKnow, the Library search engine, to find books/ebooks, articles, films we own, Brown theses and dissertations, digital projects and much more.

Build a strong search

A good search term is the key to effectively and rapidly finding information. Here are some tips:

Be specific. Consider including synonyms for a specific terminology. For example, the term ‘syllables’ is more precise than 'speech sounds'.

Link your terms in specific ways. Using AND, OR, NOT can structure the search engines' assumptions about the order in which the terms should appear in a webpage. For example: Pitch movement AND Intonation

Consider using the Search Guide or Help available in databases.

Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences, 1973-present.
1973-present; LLBA covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations from the Modern Language Association, 1926-present.
1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Provides access to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences, 1972-2015.
1972-2015; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Surveys

Year's Work in Modern Language Studies Online 2011- through JSTOR. Vol.1-v.72 for 1929/1930-2010 are in print only and shelved in the stacks at PB1 .Y45.

Linguistics, the Cambridge survey In print only and shelved in Rock stacks: P121 .L567 1988

List of Journals @ Brown

Philology, Languages & Literatures