Film and Video Resources

Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.

Digital Theatre Plus features high-definition live video captures of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key creative players, and teaching materials. Digital Theatre works in partnership with leading theater companies, education organizations and arts collectives in the UK to make the best theater, English, and drama resources widely available.

Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.

Each year you can discover more than 100 events broadcast live from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Thtre des Champs-lyses, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele and more. You can also access the largest online collection of classical music videos
in the world, with 1,500 original programmes available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year.

Contains 500+ streaming videos of operas performed at the Metropolitan Opera in New York City. Includes interviews with performers and creators as available. For assistance, try the User Guide. This database has conflicts with Firefox on Mac computers. We recommend you use Safari or Chrome.

Music Online: Listening brings together on a single cross-searchable platform the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music products to which the Brown University Library subscribes. Databases include:

• American Music
• Classical Music Library
• Contemporary World Music
• Jazz Music Library
• Popular Music Library
• Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Qwest TV was created by Quincy Jones and is a subscription video-on-demand (SVOD) service featuring jazz and related eclectic music.

Academic Video Online includes every kind of material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. There are thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, andPeabody winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Academic Video Online covers all disciplines and subject areas, with specific strengths in anthropology, counseling & therapy art, fashion & design, business & economics, diversity studies, documentary film, feature film, education, history, music & dance, news & current events, and theatre & drama. In addition, there is content in nursing, allied health, criminal justice, engineering, and science.

Subject areas to search individually:

Art & Design
Diversity
Health Sciences
History
Literature & Language
Music & Performing Arts
Psychology & Counseling
Science & Engineering
Social Sciences

This collection includes streaming videos of the 37 Shakespeare plays that the BBC produced for television broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the series created by Cedric Messina. The videos include performances by some of Britain's most distinguished actors and actresses. Each play may be viewed in its entirety or each act may be viewed separately. All videos have optional closed captioning.

Digital Theatre Plus features high-definition live video captures of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key creative players, and teaching materials. Digital Theatre works in partnership with leading theater companies, education organizations and arts collectives in the UK to make the best theater, English, and drama resources widely available.

Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT?s Archive, the National Theatre Collection 1 and 2is now complete and contains 50 filmed performances.

The Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes 600 plays from many of the UK and Ireland?s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.

Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.

Current; On the Boards theater is located in Seattle, WA. Founded by artists in 1978, they work to introduce audiences to artistic innovators who are defining the future of dance, theater and music whether on stage in Seattle or on the global screen. OntheBoards.tv is a website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop or mobile device.

Current; the Routledge Performance Archive provides access to audio-visual material from past and-present practitioners of performance across a range of fifty years. Materials included encompass interviews with important figures from theater and performance history, practitioner footage, masterclasses, contemporary productions, and documentaries. New material is added every three months.

Theatre in Video: Volume Icontains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of some of the worlds most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.